Canadian Directv Subscription

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Jordank14

Original poster
Aug 13, 2008
Hi All,

I live in Montreal, Canada and wish to subscribe to Directv. I have a friend that subscribes to Directv through an address that he has in Oakland, California and he loves his service with the exception of one thing - he does not receive the major networks (East or West) in HD. Meaning he is unable to subscribe to the HDs that you would normally find around the 90s and 390s. If I were to get a Directv subscription, how could I go about getting the major networks in HD? Does anyone know of a specific US zip code that would give me eligibility to subscribe to these HDs? Also, my friend was telling me about the OTA HD locals, but I believe this requires a seperate antenna right? Any info would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Welcome to Satelliteguys...

I can tell you that OTA would not help you in Montreal with a Directv box. They are only setup for US zip codes and it would have no data to pul your local stations off.

As for DNS zip codes, I have no idea.

I was thinking about the OTA antenna in terms of picking up the HD networks out of my local US market (I'm about an hour from Plattsburgh, NY). Also, when using an OTA antenna does it require seperate wiring or does it merely run through the satellite's RG6? I guess the easiest solution would be to simply have access to the HD's situated in the channel 90s range. Anyone else have answers?

So what does this OTA antenna consist of and is it seperately wired to the back of the receiver, or can it be wired to the dish itself?