cannot get AMC 7

Status
Please reply by conversation.

pippin25

Original poster
Sep 6, 2005
I have a 10 ft. dish with a fortec ultra and 4dtv receiver hooked up to it.On both receivers I get most channels, but on one satellite, AMC 7 ( 137 ), I can't get signal quality on fortec ultra. I would like to get the Anchorage, Alaska channels. I have a new 17 degree lnb c band only and system information on fortec ultra is: Lifetime Ultra Fortec Star 2.72 Boot ver 6.1 May 19, 2005 (NT) .I live near Tallahassee, Florida and would like to get these channels. Please help.

What FR and SR are you using? They are on C Band @ FR 3880, SR 25200 with my Satworks 3618. AMC 7 has a NASA channel that you can zero in on. The Anchorage stations are there, I watch them everyday. Good luck.

I get a good clear picture on the 137 degree west satellite through my 4dtv c-band only receiver, but on my fta receiver I can't get any signal strength on the quality bar. The fta receiver is set up as follows: LNB type: STANDARD LNB LOC. Freg: 5150 Polarity: Horizontal Downlink Frequency: 3880 MHz Symbol Rate: 25.190 What else can I do to get these channels?

pippin25 said:
Symbol Rate: 25.190

Sounds like you have everything in order. Different receivers have a variance in FRs and SRs. Lyngsat shows the SR as 25195, as I said, I get it with 25200. Do you have "blind scan" capabilities? If you do, try a blind scan and it will find the variance and compensate for the difference. If you don't, try the above SRs or different combinations for the SR. Also try bumping the dish a little while you have the FTA receiver on the FR and see if the signal gets stronger. If it does, you are on it. Sometimes you can be zeroed in on an analog signal but not getting the digital because the band is norrower and the dish is not on it. Keep me posted.