Can't get HD

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

Rappy

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Dec 11, 2004
Sullivan, Maine
I live in Maine and have difficulty receiving HD on the 110 satellite. The best reading by the installer D sent out and later from a local installer was about 55 during perfect weather. There are several HD channels I receive only on perfectly clear nights. After complaining to Directv about this, they credited me with $200 so that I could purchase a larger dish. I got a Channelmaster 36x24 inch dish. I have not yet installed it because I must attach it to a pipe embedded in concrete in my front yard. When the ground thaws in April I will do so. Has anyone of you gone to a larger dish, and if so have you received better reception from the satellites? Just curious.

Channel Master Dish

I live in an area of Alabama that is white for digital and analog and due to frequent heavy rains and trees there is frequent rain fade with the 18 inch Phase III dish.

I switched to the 36x24 Channel Master Gainmaster dish and it significantly reduced rain fade. It has to be a "frog strangler " with very limited visibility for me to lose signal. I also get 95-100% signal strength (Samsung TRS160)on all transponders of any use to me and no less than 60 on the other spot beams that are visible to the dish.