Cant get RTPi

Status
Please reply by conversation.

nancymiranda

Original poster
Jun 12, 2012
Toronto, Ontario
Hi Everyone:
I'm new to the forum, just joined! Was searching for information on RTPi and you folks seemed to have the best information... so Now i'm wondering if you can help me.

My parents have RTPi and they use an Viewstat Ultra 2000 receiver. I believe the Satellite is pointing to AMC5. Up until a few weeks ago, the signal was perfect. Then all of a sudden, it works during the day, but not at night. This is driving my dad nuts because he loves watching the comedy romance that gives at 8pm. We thought it might be due to bad weather over the USA, but now seems like a regular routine. Channel works great during the day, then stops working around 4pm until about 2 am. The signal strength is at 78%, but the quality varies from 0 - 11%. What other information can I provide to help trouble shoot? Thanks in advance.... ps, I'm not that technical. Up until recently, my brother use to deal with these issues. Now its fallen on my lap.

:welcome to satelliteguys :)

there are several things you can look for
something blocking the view of the satellite dish / lnbf --> nesting bird , wasp ect ( not likely but can check)
cable connectors ( again not likely but can check)
lnbf is going bad ( most likely ) replace with a spare if you have it
receiver is getting hot ( possible) make sure unit is getting proper ventilation , increase spacing between receiver and any equipment around it a 1" gap would be great ( you can even place a small fan close by) several folks here mentioned USB fans for cooling recievers (if this is the problem)

if none of these are your problem you might want to include receiver model # and dish / lnbf # & type

Thank you Gabshere:

The dish is mounted on the roof of my garage, so there is nothing blocking it. (Lol I know cause I had to climb up there).