Changing satelites

mark4470

Original poster
Jul 22, 2012
ohio
Is there a way that dish can change the 129 to 110 or 119? I get twice the signal off my hopper with either 110 or 119. I get high 30's to low 40's with 129. I get low 80's with the other two satellites.

When I try to change to 110 or 119 it automatically goes back to 129. I'm new to all this. I have had cable all my life.

Thanks,
Mark

Welcome to SatelliteGuys! There are certain channels on certain satellites. So when you want to watch a certain channel, in this case HD it will go to that satellite. Yes 129 is weaker, but it needs to be a little higher than that. Are you having trouble or just experimenting?

This is normal, and 129 is not actually weak in the sense of absolute signal-strength. All HD channels on Dish are on 8PSK transponders, while almost all SD channels on 110/119 are still on QPSK transponders. The 8PSK transponders will show a higher error rate, even though they have more robust error correction, and that is why the receiver shows a lower number on the Point Dish screen. You are not actually looking at a simple signal strength meter on the receiver; it's more like an inverse error rate meter.

I lose signal I think more than I should. I had a tech from dish helping me on here last night. He had me check the different signals out. I never herd back from him.

I was just wondering if I could change the default settings some how. Maybe he will get back with me later on.
Thanks,
Mark

How often do you lose signal? I lose signal only during the most tremendous downpours; mist or even light rain or clouds in general do not phase my receivers.