channelmaster/primestar dishes & other stuff - newbie

Status
Please reply by conversation.

blahhh

Original poster
Jun 22, 2015
upNorth
greetings - i picked up free 1.2m & 1m channelmaster/primestar dishes & other stuff. i did a bunch of reading here & a couple other places since i'm a newbie to all this. 1 has a Primestar "beer can" LNBF - NJR2162F which ziggy1222 says "is a single output with a internal 13/18v switch - harder to find but not impossible, newest version" & 1 with V & H outputs #967230524 printed & sticker with # 6462 - this one is flat in an oval cover - both with a cm3040645 feedhorn. there were 3" & 2.5" mounting brackets & posts for roof & side of a building (90º welded pipe+mount). i can maybe get some pics if needed, but they look like the one in post # 1934760

i'd like to get the 1.2m dish up and tuning 97 for a start. later i'd like to motorize it. to avoid trees i'll have to mount it on garage roof or a pole between my & neighbor's garage (3' apart) that is bracketed to the garage (i'll make a bracket with lag bolts for fine plumb adjustment) which i think is a better option for motorizing.

here is other stuff i have to get it going: pansat 3500SD, a few DISEqC 4x1 switches, zinwell SAM-4803 4x8 multiswitch, channelmaster 6904IFD 4x4 multiswitch, dish switch 21, dish/dtv lnbs. a pansat pm900s motor (25# limit) came with but the 1.2m dish = 27# ; 3" mount = 8# ; 2.5" mount = 4.5# - so i'll need a different motor i expect, and an HD receiver later. for now i'll go step by step & have some fun. here are some starting ?s - thanks for any and all advice

1. is the NJR2162F all i need for SD & HD tuning of 97 etc ?
2. plumb post = polar mount needed for good results when motorized?
3. where is Ziploc's post on weight reduction for motorizing - it's too old to appear in searches i tried i guess. thread 42450 ??
4. do you allow people to barter/buy/sell stuff here? i'll be looking for a motor soon i think & the 1m dish could be trade material.