Charged $15 for service call for tech to install dish on a pole

mikonos

Original poster
Jun 7, 2009
Florida
Hi all,

I just checked my bill and DISH charged me $15 because digital dish didn't permanently install the dish on a pole when they installed everything else. The tech scheduled a visit the next weekend for them to come dig the hole and mount the dish. I checked my bill today and there was a $15 charge for the sunday they came out. Is this a normal business practice? I IM'd DISH today and they couldn't refund the whole $15 so they are refunding $5 for 6 months, so I am making out with $15. However I think this is a terrible business practice and am kinda disappointed because if i wouldn't have checked my bill i would have lost out.

Should I just take my $15 and forget about it? Or would this irritate you too?

Josh

Consider that cheap - and depending on how far away from home on the pole be it if you should have gotten charged more for "Trenching". As a tech I'll tell ya that anything beyond 50feet and we are supposed to contact Dish directly and have additional charges applied - this normally gets resolved by the customer finishing the remainder of the trench. You do the math on how much the pole is, concrete, time to remove dish from home then put it on the pole which could be an hour+ easy.

What it boils down to here is you got charged $15 for the tech visit but that a Pole Mount Work Order was setup to come back and plant the pole and line after dig safe is marked around the home as it is the law. If the customer digs the hole and buries the cable then you wouldn't have to worry about this later visit but most customers are lazy and snub the idea.

Are you complaining about a $15 charge for a service call to mount your dish on a pole? The $15 charge is a standard service call for the protection plan and very cheap for a pole mounting.

JSheridan said:
I'm glad I didn't have to do that service call!