Charter Spectrum Speed Increases

Discussion in 'Cable and Fiber Providers' started by EarDemon, Dec 12, 2017.

  1. old corps

    old corps SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1,707
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Mid-Michigan
    Yep, I've got 117/11.8 right now.:clapping Can't stop running speed tests.....:rollingeyes
     
    dennispap likes this.
  2. dennispap

    dennispap SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    205
    Location:
    Hammond, La.
    Same here. I didn't need a new modem, however the first agent messed up my upgrade and i went from 50mbps to around 20. Got a 2nd agent who said everything was good on their end and showing i should have 100megs. Kept going thru the motions of unplugging, rebooting etc and finally they said it had to be my network interface card. :coco I said "well how come i had 50-55 megs before my upgrade and now i barely get 20"? She said it was my computer. :eeek Called and got a 3rd agent who looked at my file and said "yeah i see where the other 2 messed up. Let me clear their mess and reset everything". After 5 minutes with him i now have 100-118 megs . If at first you don't succeed......:biggrin
     
  3. primestar31

    primestar31 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Posts:
    6,428
    Likes Received:
    2,438
    Location:
    Beta Omicron Delta III
    What speed test site do you use? It turns out I didn't need a modem upgrade after all. I just re-contacted them during a chat, and they did something on their end. The Spectrum speed test site shows me now at: 105.4 down, and 11.2 up. Which agrees with my Netgear Nighthawk Qos test.
     
  4. dennispap

    dennispap SatelliteGuys Pro
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    205
    Location:
    Hammond, La.
    I used spectrum and also ookla and infinity
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  5. radio

    radio "On the Air" in MI
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Posts:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    823
    Location:
    West Central Michigan
    After an issue last week in losing almost ALL upload speed on two different services, I waited all day for it to correct, then called Charter. The "FUNNY" thing is....that the tech on the phone told me, "you're on a non supported tier."...to which I replied, "Yes, but sales will only sell me 60 down/3 up, (we were on 30/3) and charge my business $210 for it!" He countered with, "No, you can now GET 100 down/10 up and it only costs $40 more per month than what you have!"...This came after about 4 calls to their sales people trying hard to explain our need is UPload here to make sure streams stay running, not DOWNload which is fine already. Since that call, and their re-provisioning of the same modem, we've had steady good speeds. Too bad in Corporate America that somebody can't coordinate Sales and Tech to be on the same page more often. Wastes the clients' time and makes them want to leave the service! NIce to have the 100/10 now. I cannot imagine ANY family needing more than that for any reason...our business did pretty well on 30/6 (usually more like 30/3) for a long time.
     
    dennispap likes this.
  6. Jhon69

    Jhon69 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Posts:
    3,347
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Central San Joaquin Valley,CA.
    Well I could not take it anymore called up Charter Spectrum cable told them upgrade me!

    Now my download is:114.6 MB
    Upload is:11.4 MB
    This was taken as my grandkids are watching an HDX movie on Vudu.:D
    I googled and downloaded the internet rate schedule for Spectrum Internet for 2018.
    Prices are 100/10MB-$69.99
    300/20MB-$89.99
    400/20MB-$89.99

    If you take Charter Spectrum cable TV they give you $10. off the internet price.
     
    dennispap likes this.
  7. Jhon69

    Jhon69 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Posts:
    3,347
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Central San Joaquin Valley,CA.
    Charter Spectrum CSR told me(at my cable company store downtown) the 400/20MB is for business accounts,residential is the 300/20MB plan.

    After I told Charter Spectrum (over the phone) to upgrade my speed in the morning,that same morning I got an email telling me my next bill would be $220. for the next month( no discounts),that's the cost of their Gold package with 2 DVRs with my internet.

    Man you never saw an old disabled man move as fast as I did after that,I pulled out their DVRs,power supplies and remotes and I turned them back in at 4:00PM at the cable store that day,then I subscribed to YoutubeTV and Philo internet TV services,I estimate that I will save around $70. a month compared to keeping my cable TV programming and DVRs.:D
     
  8. EarDemon

    EarDemon Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    927
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    USA
    The Northeast (and perhaps other areas) received a nice speed boost last night.

    Not sure about Standard, but Ultra is now 300 x 20.

    I won't have these slow speeds for long. My Spectrum Gig gets installed Sunday afternoon. Could have had it tomorrow but I'll be living at work for the next few days.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Hall

    Hall SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Posts:
    18,346
    Likes Received:
    3,131
    Location:
    Germantown OH
    We (both home and work) are located between Cincinnati and Dayton. The Cincinnati market has been bumped up for 1-2 months or longer, that is, the standard speed is 200 Mb/s and 400 Mb/s and 1 Gb/s are available. Here, 100 Mb/s is standard and 400 Mb/s is the top speed. If you saw a change, I suspect most areas will soon as well. Usually someone on the local Reddit posts about these changes but I didn't see anything. I may reboot our modem(s) to check....
     
  10. EarDemon

    EarDemon Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    927
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    USA
    I imagine eventually in time Charter's whole footprint its going to be 200 for Standard, 400 for Ultra and 940 for Gig. What's odd is my 120 was upgraded to 300, I believe I'd have to call in to get changed over to 400. But I'm not going to bother.
     
  11. Hall

    Hall SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Posts:
    18,346
    Likes Received:
    3,131
    Location:
    Germantown OH
    Oh, you're in one of those odd markets with 120 Mb/s as "standard" vs 100 Mb/s. I don't understand why Charter does that unless it's equipment-related.
     
  12. EarDemon

    EarDemon Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    927
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    USA
    Just got my gig installed :)

    [​IMG]
     
  13. EarDemon

    EarDemon Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    927
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    USA
    It was Ultra that was 120. My hunch is that Charter wanted to increase the standard starting speed to 100 throughout their entire footprint by the end of 2017. So in areas that were not ready for significantly higher speeds, they took Standard from 60 to 100, and Ultra from 100 to 120 just to do something on a interim basis, so Standard and Ultra wouldn't be the same speed, because then what would the point of Ultra be. And it would give them time to do node splits, upgrade CMTS units, deploy 24 downstream channels, launch D3.1. 120 was just used as a placeholder until that work was completed.

    In my area its currently
    Standard - 100 x 10 for $65 or $55 w/TV
    Ultra - 400 x 20 for $90 or $80 w/TV
    Gig - 940 x 35 for $125 or $115 /TV
     
  14. EarDemon

    EarDemon Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    927
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    USA
    While a touch slower then my result above, that was while the modem was directly connected to my PC. My router could not support WAN speeds over 600 Mbps. I could have cried to the NYS AG and told them how big bad Spectrum was ripping me off and hope for Prince Andy to fly in and save the day by throwing them out of the state. Or I could have upgraded to a better router. I chose option #2.


    [​IMG]
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...