Check my logic - Portable Dish setup

lakebum431

Pub Member / Supporter
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Lifetime Supporter
Sep 5, 2005
Norris, TN
I have been using dish network tailgating for many years and have setup the dish dozens of times (everything from a single LNB back in the day to a Dish 500, to a Dish 1000, to a Dish 1000.2 to a Dish 1000.4). This is the first year that I will be using a Hopper as the receiver though. So, I got my equipment out and am having a heck of a time getting it to work.

My equipment: Dish 1000.4 (Eastern Arc), Single Node, Dish Hopper (w/o sling)

I have two cables running from ports 1 and 2 into the node. I then have one cable coming from the host port on the node to the input on the Hopper. I level the mast and align the dish and then run a check switch (my home setup has a duo node so I need to do this to get the receiver to correctly recognize the dish and node). All three tuners say CONN but no reception.

Question 1 - I believe that this means that the receiver is correctly recognizing the equipment (Dish and node) so they seem to be functioning correctly. This would seem to just mean that I have an aiming probelm right?

I have tried aiming from two different locations one of which is directly behind my home dish (pole mounted) with the exact same skew and elevation as this dish (I have verified that the mast is plumb) so I'm very confident that I should be able to find the sats by slowly moving left and right (as I have always done). The only signal I was ever able to pick up was when I hit the 72 bird on the 77 LNB (when I widened my search just for the heck of it). I'm thinking that there could be something wrong with the actual LNBs.

Question 2 - Can anyone think of anything else that could be wrong?

I have never been this frustrated trying to aim a dish before. I do want to point out that this dish setup worked fine last year with a 922.