Cleveland OH HD locals

Status
Please reply by conversation.

FryMan

Original poster
Jan 31, 2007
Hi- I'm a newbie to this satellite stuff, and I wanted to know if anyone could tell me about the type of satellite dish needed to get DirecTV HD locals in Cleveland, OH area. I just "moved" there from Erie, PA (about 100 miles away), but DirecTV told me that I needed a second, add'l dish to receive the locals than the one originally installed for me in Erie. BTW, no locals available for me in Erie (one of the lucky 6% I guess). I don't get it, because the installer told me that the recent equipment install included the newest satellite dish available (although at this point I am uncertain of any model number). Is DTV just giving me some sort of line or what? Any help & explanations or how to get around this would be appreciated. (Like, can I buy and install my own dish myself, then just add the locals?) Thanks!

Hi- I'm a newbie to this satellite stuff, and I wanted to know if anyone could tell me about the type of satellite dish needed to get DirecTV HD locals in Cleveland, OH area. I just "moved" there from Erie, PA (about 100 miles away), but DirecTV told me that I needed a second, add'l dish to receive the locals than the one originally installed for me in Erie. BTW, no locals available for me in Erie (one of the lucky 6% I guess). I don't get it, because the installer told me that the recent equipment install included the newest satellite dish available (although at this point I am uncertain of any model number). Is DTV just giving me some sort of line or what? Any help & explanations or how to get around this would be appreciated. (Like, can I buy and install my own dish myself, then just add the locals?) Thanks!

I have the Cleveland HD locals and I believe you need the 5 LNB dish like the new slimline. You do not need a second dish like some of the locals require you to get like Toledo Ohio. You also need one of their mpeg 4 receivers like the H20 and HR20.