Considering TurboHD Bronze - Too many questions!

RegGuheert

Original poster
Dec 24, 2008
VA
I live near Winchester, VA in a location where cable will likely NEVER be available to me. I am considering subscribing to Dish TurboHD Bronze. My last satellite TV experience was with DirecTV about 20 years ago. However, I am a radio engineer and currently use HughesNet for internet access. As such, I have no issues with radio terminology, antenna installation, etc. I have a very nice OTA HDTV setup which includes only one HDTV, Blu-ray, HD-DVD and the recent addition of a DTVPal DVR, which is what got me thinking about Dish. The Bronze package with a DVR would be a nice addition to my current line-up. (Please note, I do not want ANY other programming, including locals.) However, I don't seem to find answers to many obvious questions either here or on Dish's website. Answers to any of my questions will be greatly appreciated! (Please don't feel compelled to answer them all!):

Pricing questions:

P1) Is there some way that I can lock in the $24.99/mo. price and avoid the $5.00 increase in February (for at least two years)? Perhaps prepay?
P2) Is Dish going to charge me a fee for NOT including locals?
P3) Is there any way to avoid the additional fee for the DVR, such as owning it myself?
P4) Am I *really* required to connect to a phone line to avoid some fee? Will an ethernet connection suffice? (I don't have a land line anymore, though I do have a phone jack at my entertainment center that will allow calling out through one of three cell phones.)
P5) What other taxes/fees will I see every month? I'm guessing it will be more than just $24.99 + DVR fee...
P6) Am I better off purchasing now or is there some incentive for purchasing in February after the rate increase and promotions come into play? Please keep in mind that I don't WANT more programming than TurboHD Bronze.