Consolidate dishes in Condo complex

Maxim

Original poster
Feb 26, 2006
Hi,

I'm pretty new to this but couldn't find a similar topic so I'll give it a go. Hopefully my elaborations make sense. I live in a townhouse complex. We have 3 buildings and about 3-5 units per building. Every unit has cable connections however there's numerous inhabitants that have chosen satellite service over cable. Facing south though there's a row of trees that would prevent any dishes to be mounted on the balcony. Fortunately the home owners association has been pretty liberal about dishes on common ground and thus has allowed some dishes to be mounted on the roof. All dishes on the roof though should not be visible from common ground. For most of them that is the case. There's a new dish though up there that cannot go behind the roof and therefore is visible. Some of the owners now have a problem with that.

I have some experience with satellites from the time I lived in Europe and did all my dish installs myself. Thus I have been tasked to look into some options. What I would like to do is:

- Have all dish network services consolidated to one superdish that serves the whole complex.
- Have all DirectTV dishes consolidated to one dish as well and serve the whole complex.

Now some of the buildings are separated from each other and I think you cannot run cables from one building to another without going down to the ground. So the cable lenghts will be quite long.

I think the whole thing can be accomplished with a number of switches specific to the network provider (I'm familiar with Dish network so e.g. a number of DP34 switches). I think though that I need signal amplifiers to get over cable length issues. I have not seen such amplifiers though. Can someone point me to the right direction here?

I hope this made sense and curious to your thoughts. Are there similar problems / solutions out there?

regards,

Maxim