Consumer Rights / Class Action Suit

.O.

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Feb 13, 2005
PHX
What are our rights as consumers?
If in fact Voom does shut down, do we as customers have any legal recourse?
Can we as consumers file a class action suit against CVC. Shutting down the service is certainly not living up to the spirit of the contract we all signed.

The reason I came to Voom was the implied promise of 70 HD channels coming in March. I feel I have been misled and cheated as a consumer.

Can we sue?

TheTimm said:
Sure you can sue. It's America -- it's almost expected. Good luck. Let me know how it turns out.

Actually, I was thinking more along the lines of us. The people on this site and anyone else you may know that has Voom. Filing a Class Action Suit.

Now, I'm not a lawyer nor do I play one on TV, so i guess my question for anyone who may have a working knowledge of the law.

Voom Customer Agreement 1c.

"We reserve the right, at our sole discretion, to change, re-arrange, add or delete the Voom services, including but not limited to our programming packages, the selections in those packages, our rates, and any other service we offer at any time."

22.Dispute Resolution
(b) Arbitration
In the event any claim cannot be resolved informally, you agree that any and all disputes, claims, and causes of action arising out of or connected to this Agreement or otherwise between you and us [the agreement also refers to equipment warranties and limitations of liability for service and equipment], shall be resolved individually, without resort to any form of class action, and shall be submitted to binding arbitration in that State of New York in New York County in accordance with the commercial rules of the American Arbitration Association ("AAA") then in effect.

Class action appears to be out without a compelling reason to convince the courts otherwise, since courts usually enforce binding arbitration agreements.

madpoet said: