Decisions for a new subscriber...

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

jfk88

Original poster
Dec 14, 2004
Well...it's official...my need to educate myself has yet again left me cross eyed from reading posts in the forum over the past two hours.

Can you guys just make a suggestion.

I want SAT. Dish seems to offer more value.

I'm intersted in 921...however very skeptical about all these problems I've read about.

Is it worth it? I have Sony 55” Grand WEGA™ LCD Rear Projection HDTV KDF-55WF655 and I'm new to HD tv & DVR service. I'm technical but for god sakes it seems like a nightmare with some of these things I've read. Now granted the newest update might have addressed these issues or some of them...but my biggest fear is I drop this coin and get the thing all setup by my local retailer and I have issues with HD recordings etc. Any input?

Also...I'm a bit lost with this whole OTA vs. Dish locals. I'm in the PHilly area and they are available to me through dish. However I'm getting the impression many don't pay for locals because they have some kind of other antenna? Someone please elaborate there.

Any help is greatly appreciated as I'm really hoping to make an educated and informed decision.

Thanks,

Joe

You can hook an external antenna to a 921 to get OFF air and/or Off Air Digital(HD) locals.

Since you live in/near a larger city, you can probably get away with not subscibing to local channels and using a small outside antenna or possibly an attic antenna.

Check out Antennaweb.org to get a rough idea of how close you are to your locals.

http://www.antennaweb.org/

And the antenna links page: