difference between Dish1000 and Superdish121

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

HomerJ

Original poster
Dec 3, 2005
East Coast
I am a total newbbie and have gotten some great info in my quest to finally get satalitte TV

I am a bit confused though with all this info.

Exactly what is the difference between the dish network 1000 and the superdish 121.

They look physically the same but pretty sure they are not getting the same programming.

Any help for this newbbie would be a great help.

Thanks

They point to different satellites. The Dish 1000 points to 110, 119, & 129. The superdish 121 points to 110, 119, & 121.

And by not pointing at 129, the SuperDish 121 will not be able to pick up a portion of Dish's HD programming. To get this, you'd need to install a 2nd dish along with your SuperDish. If you don't use HD, then you aren't missing out on anything right now.

They are shaped the same but the Dish1000 is smaller. 121 is an FSS satellite requiring a larger reflector while 129 is a DBS high frequency satellite requiring only a smaller reflector. The Dish1000 has a built in switch whereas the SuperDish does not. Some markets went from the SuperDish to the Dish1000.

The Dish1000 has a built in switch whereas the SuperDish does not.
No it doesn't. The DPPlus Twin LNB contains the switch - as long as you are only hooking up TWO receivers. Otherwise, you install a standard DP-Twin and a DP34 or DPP44.