Direct TV Error Code 775

Status
Please reply by conversation.

DanJack63

Original poster
Aug 1, 2013
MO
I'm new to Directv and purchased it for my house abut 6 months ago. I have a cabin that has an old 18" dish on it, and I was told I could take one of my receivers from my house and use it to get Directtv at the cabin. I purchased a new dual ouput LNB/FTA Single Statellite Dish Antenna and a new RG6 cable for the cabin and hooked it to the old dish. I hooked it directly to the receiver that I took from my house, which is a H25-100. I get an error Code 775. I don't have my ladder so I can get on my house roof now to see the system I have, but my system looks like a SlimLine dish with a single wire coming down from the feed arm. The LNB has a single "eyeball". I also have a HR24-200 DVR in my house and I believe a wireless device for Whole Home. What am I missing for the cabin set up? Do I need a power inserter? Also, it looks like there has been a lot of tree growth since the cabin satellite was used last. Do I need a completely clear shot at the sky to get reception? Thanks for any input.

The H25 requires a SWM system, which you have at your main house.
The cabin doesnt have a SWM. The HR24 should be able to work at the cabin, but will need the satellite settings changed between the 2 properties. The Sat settings are in the menus (Menu/Settings and help/Settings/Satellite/Repeat satellite setup).
Not familiar with the Dish you got for the cabin, so not sure which dish type to set it to, but I CAN tell you that the switch type has to be changed to 02:Multiswitch.
When you bring it back to the main house and go to "repeat satellite setup", it should auto-detect the SWM and Dish type.. so all you have to do there is hit continue.