Directtv in Mexico

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Bacalar G

Original poster
Jun 17, 2007
California, Bay Area
Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to the forum. I'm moving to Mx in Jan about 3hrs south by car of Cancun. I wish to take my HD-DVR. What dish do you think would work down there as I may be a little out of D'S footprint.

:welcome

I am not a dish expert by any means but I've installed several. I cant imagine it wouldn't work down there. Your elevation will be higher than a footprint in lets say Arizona but I would guess it would work. Folks in Canada get Directv signals. Now you lose spotbeams but national should work.

What dish do you think would work down there as I may be a little out of D'S footprint.
I believe that the dish needs to be 1m+.

You'll also need to figure out how to hide the fact that you're in Mexico from D* as they are not allowed to send US programming to Mexico. IIRC, they aren't allowed to send programming to Mexico at all as they turned over their rights to Sky Mexico.

As Brewer4 points out, you will not have access to any of the MPEG4 content.

Thank you. It sounds like I will need a good size dish and keep my subscription to directtv up here in the states. I will need Direcrtway for internet access which I hope to hook up to a Mediapc and run it all to my projector. Is anyone using a mediapc now.

The likelihood is yes you will not be able to get the lionshare of MPEG4 HD. All current HD locals with the exception of MPEG2 New York is MPEG4 spotbeam. Meaning you can only get the channels within the range of the DMA and slightly beyond. We are not sure what is going to be spotbeamed versus national CONUS but I would gather the 5 LNB dish will be somewhat limited by your location and your DECLARED service address.

I will need Direcrtway for internet access which I hope to hook up to a Mediapc and run it all to my projector. Is anyone using a mediapc now.