DirecTV and FTA (Intelsat Americas 5)

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Paco95124

Original poster
Jan 17, 2006
Hello,

I live in the Bay Area and have enjoyed DirecTV/TiVo for the past 4+ years now using my trusty SAT-T60. I am ready to move on and have my eye on receiving FTA from the Intelsat 5 bird at 97. Since I am fairly new in this arena I have a few questions that may be easy to answer for most of you I assume:

- Is it possible to replace my old, dual LNB dish with a new one and receive both 97 FTA and the 101 DTV? If so, what types of LNB do I need?

- What is a good not-too-fancy FTA receiver?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Paco

You will need at least a 30" dish and a KU LNBF for IA-5

I LIKE the Fortec Classic NA, but check the review area...............

WELCOME to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA forum :)

Hi PSB, thank you for the quick reply!

Your answer tells me I need only one dish for both services. Not so cluttered on my roof. Thanks for the receiver recommendation.

Do you have a recommendation for a dish as well? And would I be able to reuse the LNBs I have on my DTV dish?

Thanks,
Paco

Paco
What you can do is get a 30” dish or larger dish (I would recommend a Winegard dish) and put that up for IA5 (97W). It sounds like all you can see is 101 on DirecTV, so just put that LNB (the thing with the eye on it) right next to the LNB for IA5.

Voila…one dish, 2 LNB’s

I have the same thing going on mine for Dish Network. I have a 30” dish for Galaxy 10 (they have a few English channels on there) and a LNB right next to it for 119 (Dish’s main satellite)

All you need to connect them is either a fancy 2 LNB adapter or the Iceberg special…a Hose clamp (your hardware store has them for a buck or two) :D

I must admit it, Iceberg, your advice beats buying one of those 'packages' for $100's from the big guys!

Looks like I should be able to do this myself. You think the dish would support three LNBs? Hate to give up my dual tuner TiVo (which rocks!).