DirecTV Double-Play - Seems Clunky

waff

Original poster
Jul 22, 2008
Pittsburgh
Is anyone using the DirecTV Double-Play feature? Does it seem clunky to anyone else? I was so excited for this feature, now I'm thinking they missed the mark.

Once I start double play, it takes me three or four tries to get it to record the two channels I want to flip between. I'm a software engineer, so I don't think that I'm often confused by technology, but I can't put my finger on how this is supposed to work.

When I push the down arrow twice, it takes me to some other channel that I wasn't going to double-play. Then I change to the channel I want in the double play, then press the down arrow again, and it takes me back to the channel I didn't want in the first place. So then, I enter both channels I want to double play, then press the down button, and guess what I'm watching again? The same channel I didn't want to watch in the first place.

Why is this so complicated. There's no way I'm explaining this to my wife.

Can't this functionality just be part of the Previous Channel button, or just work when you change a channel, then go back to the previous channel, and it allows you to rewind the content?

This is not what I expected at all from this functionality. DirecTV, I love your service and normally the technology decisions are very encouraging. This one, I think you've missed. There has to be a way to make this more user friendly. Keep your wives in mind when designing this. If you want people to use this and appreciate it, keep it simple. This, in my mind is far from simple yet.

its not you. I had issues until this weekend. Here is a simple break down.

1. Turn to a channel you want to start double play(Press Down arrow and follow prompts on screen). Ex. ESPNHD 206
2. Hit the down arrow again to flip to other tuner.
3. Select new channel you want to watch. MLB NETWORK 213