DirecTV HR54 question...

Status
Please reply by conversation.

edisonprime

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Dec 12, 2012
Sorry, I haven't been here in quite a while. I've been preoccupied. Anyways, my upgrade date is coming in July, and I have a question. I talked to two DirecTV reps, and I question whether they are right or not. See I only have one TV now in my apartment, and they say with the HR54 (the receiver I want to upgrade to) only supports 4K with the 4K Genie Mini. And they say there is NO difference between the HR54 and the HR44. Is that true? I don't want to pay for two receivers with my limited budget, and I plan to get a 4K TV sometime, but when that happens I'll sell my current one to a friend, hence only one TV, and I'm pretty much using all the inputs. I could have sworn the HR54 could do 4K by itself, and the others don't, but I'm not an expert either. And I plan to have it ahead of my 4K TV so I have 4K ready when I own my TV. Can I do that as well? And I believe I heard that the HR54 can do 7.1 surround, is that right? I currently have a 7.2 surround system? Any input guys? I do know I have gotten false information from the DirecTV reps before as well as even the techs that came to my apartment. Sometimes I don't think they know what they are talking about.

I'm going to tell you how things are now. Over the next few months as linear 4K becomes available, things might (surely will) change.
Assuming you don't already have an HR34, then a regular Genie upgrade would be an HR44. You might get an HR54, but you don't have control over that. For 4K, you need the HR54 AND either the C61K client OR a DirecTV 4K compatible TV. The HR54 can't do 4K on its own, it does not have the necessary decoders etc. Unless you buy all the stuff yourself, you won't be able to get the 4K equipment until you have a 4K TV, because DirecTV installation is mandatory and they won't install unless you have a 4K TV.