DirecTV Now Beta (Invite Only) for FireTV with DVR

Discussion in 'Cord Cutters Club (Internet TV)' started by schneid, Jan 13, 2018.

  1. schneid

    schneid Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    642
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    In the Wind
    Details here and I wasn't invited:

    DIRECTV NOW Rolls Out Fire TV DVR Beta to All Beta Testers - Cord Cutters News

    I have been with DTV for 21 years. Tried Now awhile back but no Locals and no DVR. I followed the instructions in the Link above, logged on with my Sat service ID, and got in. Liked what I saw but no time to play now. Tried to Record two shows but didn't work but then I don't know what kind of Storage I need, Cloud or Hardware. Settings provided no clues.

    Also says, FTV Gen 2 only but I have a gen 3 that came out a few months back. Installed, loaded, and ran fine. Maybe that is why I can't record. BTW, don't like Gen 3 much because of banner ads. Is faster but I miss my rooted Gen 1.
     
  2. xfoneguy

    xfoneguy SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    Duvall, WA
    I'm seriously considering cutting the cord, and like the channels that DTV Now is offfering,,,,, but I was under the impression that there is currently NO DVR available (cloud or hardware). If there was, this would probably be a no-brainer. I could really use the $150 a month elsewhere.
     
  3. msmith198025

    msmith198025 Member of the Year
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    25,760
    Likes Received:
    6,045
    Location:
    mississippi
    On DIrectv Now, there isnt, unless you are in the beta. It is coming though.

    Some others already offer some form of DVR capability.
     
    xfoneguy likes this.
  4. xfoneguy

    xfoneguy SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    Duvall, WA
    From what I've found as I've researched online, it appears that DTV is the only one of the "major" streaming services that doesn't offer DVR capability. I wonder if there is any way to record on your own? Does TIVO do anything like that? I hope that D get's it together soon, as they seem to offer virtually every channel that I would miss if I "cut my cord".
     
  5. mackie99

    mackie99 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Posts:
    6,252
    Likes Received:
    8,776
    Location:
    Sunny Southern California
    It was reported that DVR service will be rolling out Spring 2018.
     
    msmith198025 likes this.
  6. JTBenson

    JTBenson SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Posts:
    553
    Likes Received:
    58
    I hope they make some changes from the beta before they roll it out. It still has bugs plus they don't have a way to view a list of shows that have been scheduled. I tried to record a show and it gave me an error that said to try again later. I also had some shows get deleted. (All of this reported to them.)
     
  7. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    1,544
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    I was looking at another FireTV or Roku to upgrade one of my older roku's. I was torn between the current sales on the 4K AFTV and the regular AFTV stick, then I saw the offer on slickdeals for the free Amazon Fire TV 4k box with one month of Directvnow service at $35. So will try Directvnow out for the next 30 days. Maybe I'll get lucky and dvr service will roll out before April 11th :cool:.

    Picture quality is pretty good so far on my 4K Roku stick. I might have been tempted to keep it, but Cox just renewed my cheap bundle offer with my Tivo's for another 2 years. Here is the link if anyone is interested in the Amazon Fire TV offer.

    DIRECTV NOW

    DIRECTV NOW: Amazon Fire TV + 1-Month of DIRECTV NOW Service $35 (New Subscribers Only)
     
  8. schneid

    schneid Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    642
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    In the Wind
    Fire TV gen 3 4K box has no USB port, no Ethernet port, and no optical output. You can use an OTG Y cable off the micro USB in power port and then add a USB hub. Still no surround sound unless your AV has HDMI inputs. No Youtube TV either which seems to be a pretty good streaming option. Waiting for my Channel Master Stream+ to replace mine.
     
  9. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    8,964
    Likes Received:
    1,544
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    I don’t need any of that for its intended use.
     
  10. spencer7779

    spencer7779 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    central florida
    I am extremely happy with the Ftv 3, actually seems smoother than my 2nd generation box running Dtv now.
     
    osu1991 likes this.
  11. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    I was extremely disappointed with my AFTV stick (most recent generation). I really only use it for Dish Anywhere when traveling. Other than that, every streaming box in my house is now Roku. It isn't perfect, but it is closer than anything else I've tried.
     
    Jillian2 likes this.
  12. RandallA

    RandallA Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Posts:
    10,516
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    After reading this post, I went ahead and installed Directv Now Beta on two FireTV devices. One is generation 2 and the other one is generation 3, both installed and working fine. I like the fact that they updated the Guide with Info for each program (wife asked me about it and I didn't have an answer). I'm still testing the DVR functions so I may report back in the next few days.

    We still have Directv but looking to switch next month if DirectvNow works for us. So far we like the selection of channels, picture quality and the fact that is half the cost of Directv. I see some buffering (Ethernet and Wifi) and when watching sports, picture quality is not as good but we'll continue testing it. The Beta app has given us the Info in the guide, I see DD+ on my receiver where before as was seeing Stereo and of course the DVR function.
     
  13. schneid

    schneid Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    642
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    In the Wind
    I am retreating back to DirecTV sat. I have discovered that these OTT and streaming services are limited to 2-channel stereo audio. My sat service has 5.1 even on the locals. For example, Showtime Anywhere which I have through my sat subscription is stereo while on the sat it is 5.1. Tried it last night for both Billions and Homeland. Plus, I can DVR them on the sat. On the cord-cutters, there is no FF for the OTT but there is on the sat. Guess I should say I am using a FireTV 3 which does pass 4k HighDynamicRange and/or DolbyVision as well as DolbyDigital+ 7.1 and/or DolbyAtmos 5.1.2.

    I hyped the Channel Master Stream + here but it seems to be bust on AVS Forum (see below). Mine disappeared two days after it was shipped and no more are available until May, so they say. I just reversed the charge.

    Official Channel Master Stream+ Owner's Thread - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

    Cord-cutting is tougher than you think. Too many gotchas. My DirecTV sat is actually pretty sweet and it all works. We might even make 22 years together.
     
    ncted likes this.
  14. bruce

    bruce Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Posts:
    3,387
    Likes Received:
    1,660
    Maybe on Live TV they are in 2.0 but both Showtime Anywhere and HBO Go on demand programming is in Dolby Digital Plus (using a Roku) unless my Receiver is lying to me when it shows DD+.

    I can Record also and Fast Forward, I have Vue, there are other options then Now, you can't lump all OTT services together

    I think it has been quite easy to drop Cable / Sat. Service to go OTT, you have to remember you are paying a premium for that sweet service from DirecTV, for me I would be well over $100 a month for the same level of programming and 5 boxes from DirecTV versus the $44.99 a month I pay to Vue ( Sony).
     
    Zookster likes this.
  15. xfoneguy

    xfoneguy SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2008
    Posts:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    336
    Location:
    Duvall, WA
    After many years of subscribing to both Dish and DTV, I am SO ready to "cut the cord"..........I've "trialed" most of the major streaming services now and in terms of channels that I actually watch, DTV Now is about as close as I can get to "real" satellite. Unfortunately, I'm still reading about how the DVR function is "coming soon". I can't even remember how long ago it was that I had no option but to watch my TV "live" and I'm not about to start that again.. I'm kind of surprised at how many people seem to be OK with watching their programming like that. Fortunately, with no commitments to speak of, I can switch and switch again if need be. I just wish DTV would get their act together.
     
    osu1991 likes this.
  16. msmith198025

    msmith198025 Member of the Year
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Posts:
    25,760
    Likes Received:
    6,045
    Location:
    mississippi
    The two I've used for long periods of time (Vue and YouTube tv) allow me to watch exactly as I did with sat. DVR with ff and rw , or live if needed. Basically no change for me, except saving a fair amount of money in comparison to sat service.
     
    bruce likes this.
  17. bharath_das

    bharath_das SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes I have been using Vue for more than 2 years and now trying YTTV, I am not missing anything from my previous Dish with hopper setup. I am saving more than $500/year
     
  18. dolfan3033

    dolfan3033 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Posts:
    199
    Likes Received:
    205
    Location:
    NC
    Regarding DTVNow and the lack of DVR, a lot of people use the DTVNow credentials to log into the specific network apps to watch their shows until the DVR comes out. I’m in the DTVNow beta.. the DVR is supposed to be out sometime spring 2018.. so anytime. It’s rumored that 20 hours will be free and 10 hours will be 10/month.
     
  19. RandallA

    RandallA Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Posts:
    10,516
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    San Francisco Bay Area
    With the DirectvNow Beta app, I think they've covered most of the issues or features needed to make it a good option to cut the cord. I know that it won't be the same experience as Satellite TV, it can't be, but at least it gives you the option to watch TV and have some of the features that we are used to. The most important point on cutting the cord is to save money and in our case the bill would be half of what we are paying Directv.
     
  20. ncted

    ncted SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,242
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Durham, NC
    Beta 2.0 is reportedly out:
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...