Directv to shift away from Satellite?

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by Scott Greczkowski, Mar 7, 2018.

  1. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Topic Starter Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    96,000
    Likes Received:
    10,505
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
  2. Voyager6

    Voyager6 Just lost in space
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Posts:
    9,017
    Likes Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    Sol 3
    So they plan to abandon rural America in favor of the cities and suburbs. Broadband to the countryside (aka rural areas) is an expensive proposition. Many parts of the country don't even have decent cell phone coverage let alone real broadband internet speeds.
     
  3. schneid

    schneid SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Posts:
    687
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    In the Wind
    Not so unusual for 'fly-over" America to be under-served.
     
    crodrules and whitewolf8214 like this.
  4. CSM

    CSM SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    640
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MO
    Their plan is to shift DTV to the rural areas and have DTV and DTV NOW have the same look and feel. Maybe even eventually replace DTV in the rural areas with DTV NOW using 5g? AT&T has talked about running fiber to a 5g tower then having a 5g radio on the roof. AT&T sees this as saving costs on truck rolls, installing the dish and the boxes.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  5. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    44,620
    Likes Received:
    9,694
    Location:
    Northern VA
    5G has rather limited range. Speed drops off rapidly with distance.

    BUT- can 5G work effectively in the 600 and 700 bands? Even at somewhat reduced speeds?

    Whole new game if it can. Especially for T-Mobile.
     
  6. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,092
    Likes Received:
    2,233
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Not until AT&T has finished rolling out fiber everywhere.
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  7. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,638
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    Md
    4g can do 50mbps, would work for much of rural america
     
  8. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    44,620
    Likes Received:
    9,694
    Location:
    Northern VA
    “Can.” How often “does?”

    4G is already widespread. Doesn’t seem to be helping much.
     
  9. mdram

    mdram SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Posts:
    3,638
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    Md
    for me? all the time.very rarely does it drop below 40
     
  10. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    44,620
    Likes Received:
    9,694
    Location:
    Northern VA
    There are huge populated areas with no cell service, let alone 4G.

    I know- the plan is to eventually be all 5G, with maybe some 4G. By then, we’ll have telepathy.
     
    madmadworld, reddice and ninjadave like this.
  11. HIFI

    HIFI Resident Psycho
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2007
    Posts:
    8,989
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    surfin SATGUYS in a round room with padded walls
    And have more layoffs. I'm so glad I got out before that sh*thole company bought directv.
     
  12. CSM

    CSM SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    640
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MO
    What if they upgrade everyone from FTTP to FTTH in addition to using 5g and use both of those technologies with DTV NOW?
     
    #12 CSM, Mar 8, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2018
  13. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    44,620
    Likes Received:
    9,694
    Location:
    Northern VA
    FTTP pretty much = FTTH. Do you mean fiber to the neighborhood?
     
  14. CSM

    CSM SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Posts:
    640
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Chesterfield, MO
    Sorry I meant upgrade all FTTC to FTTH.
     
  15. cypherstream

    cypherstream SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Posts:
    575
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    PA
    I have 50mbps via DOCSIS 3 cable. Speed is fine for me and all online streaming, including 4K works great on laptops, phones, tablets and desktop computer. Apparently it’s not fast enough for VOD through an HR44 however. Issue is our provider caps. I could never go entirely OTT because I would run out of bandwidth month to month.
     
    Jillian2 and salyavin like this.
  16. IcEWoLF

    IcEWoLF SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Posts:
    7,526
    Likes Received:
    4,349
    Location:
    Nevada
    They have improved coverage in my area. At work I use to get 4G, over the past month now I get LTE coverage there. Few other areas have improved.
     
  17. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,092
    Likes Received:
    2,233
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    I think we are 10-15 years away.

    #1 every home in America that has a traditional home phone ran on copper lines will need to be transitioned fiber.

    Just the cost to maintain the existing copper network is getting out of hand. Going to fiber optic cable makes sense from a customer service stand point and on maintained.

    2) any areas not converted to fiber will be served by 5G

    20 years ago the best I could get at my house was 768 DSL. Thought that was the best until Comcast started offering 6 meg internet.

    Uverse came along offered 18 meg and I thought that was the bomb.

    Comcast came back and offered 105 meg and I thought I was cooking with gas.

    Then another company called WOW came by and offered 300 meg. I jumped on that, and a few months later they bumped it to 600 meg.

    Thought that was good, until AT&T came a knocking and sold me 1 Gig via fiber.

    Now I hear WOW and Comcast are going to 1 gig soon in my area.

    3 gig internet providers in my backyard !

    Never thought that would be possible.

    Then I hear AT&T is wiring the rest of my area with fiber.

    It’s coming, slowly but to everyone p
     
  18. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,104
    Likes Received:
    2,057
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Whats FTTC ?
    We have FTTN (node/term) and FTTH (house in some areas)
     
  19. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,486
    Likes Received:
    7,834
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
  20. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    59,104
    Likes Received:
    2,057
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    Just curious Claude, How drastic did the price change frommone to the next ... mainly the 18 mg to 105 and up.

    I had a sub not long ago that said she was having issues with he wifi with the Cable company in her area.
    I installed our service at 100 mg for her and we looked afterwards at her bill to see what speed she was at with the Cable co and it was only 18mg, so that was a huge upgrade for her and she had no issues when I was done ...

    This was a lady that had her daughter show up when I got there and proclaimed that I had to run ethernet cables to all her TVs, (3 across the house) because the wifi wouldn't work .... She said we did that for her and she expected it for Mom too ....
    I asked her why, she said the wifi was bad with the Cable company ... I told her that I was NOT the Cable company and I would set it up wifi and see how it worked, if it didn't I suggested a extender ... she could buy from BB or elsewhere ...
    Then she got bitchy saying that the att guy made up all cables for her and ran them all ...
    I told her that wasn't happening on this job ... she asked why not ... told her that a) was not my job, and its not ... and b) she doesn't want me making ethernet cables for her as I don't have the tools and have never been required to make one in 26 years now.

    Thats not saying that some of the guys do make them, I don't ...
    I'm not on the TV side of the game, I'm on the internet and repair side of things.

    Daughter finally went home, claiming that she had same speed and set up that Mom was getting ... I told her, No she didn't.

    How do I know that ?
    She lives a half a mile farther and 100 mg doesn't go that far.

    She eventually left ...
    Moms really thrilled with her service ....
    Told he to tell her daughter that Mom has much faster service than she does .... :clapping
     
    Annie61 and Ziptied like this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...