disable daily upgrade check?

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by Dee_Ann, Mar 18, 2012.

  1. Dee_Ann

    Dee_Ann Topic Starter Angry consumer!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi,

    Every morning my VIP211k shuts off at 7am. I am ~usually~ asleep at that time.
    Yesterday morning though, I was awake and a message came on screen that the tuner was about to power down to check for upgrades and what-nots.
    I had an option to bail out which I did because I was watching something!

    I always sleep with the TV on, but every morning when I wake up later there's a message floating around the screen in "Pong mode" informing me the tuner is turned off. REALLY??
    It's turned off? Then how is it displaying a message on my TV??

    I really hate that. :mad: I wouldn't mind it so much if it would power itself back up and go back to what I was watching or trying to record. But it doesn't.

    I checked in the set up menus and I can't find any way to disable this behavior, the only thing I can find is that you can only set the time that it executes this very annoying procedure, EVERY DAY!

    I do not like that it shuts off because when it does, it wakes me up. As long as I hear the TV, I sleep. As soon as it gets quiet, I wake up to see what's wrong.
    Having raised two kids, it's my nature to become worried when things suddenly go quiet.

    I really, really, really hate this "feature" and would love to find a way to disable it. What happens if you are recording a show at that time? Will it abort the recording and shut down anyway?
    Can you change it to do this like once a week instead of every bloody day??? :mad:

    This thing really annoys me so much I would even go inside the tuner and cut wires if that's what it takes. I'm not afraid to open the thing up. It's mine, it's paid for and it annoys me.
    There must be a way around this..

    Thanks..
     
  2. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV.
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    23,435
    Likes Received:
    15,480
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    I know of no way to inhibit this once/day update/reboot. I had no trouble leaving my 4900 on forever, but so far as I have heard, this is no longer possible on Dish receivers. I seriously doubt there is anything to "clip" inside the receiver to inhibit the update/reboot. It's a software function designed to solve a software problem. People who have actively prevented the receiver from rebooting find strange things happening after a few days. I personally suspect a memory leak, but that's just my wag.

    The receiver should delay the reboot if you are recoding something at the time. I watched this happen on a 612 once, at 3AM.

    There are workarounds. You can set the update/reboot time to anything; pick a time (during the day?) when it won't wake you up. You can also set a timer for a few minutes after the update happens, in order to bring the receiver back out of standby.
     
  3. garys

    garys SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Posts:
    7,621
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Greentown, Pennsylvania, United States
    No way to disable, Dish's states that if the receiver does not get it's daily update, the operating system will fail and the receiver would need to be replaced. If you search through the threads here, many of the people who tried to eliminate the update wound up having to replace their receivers in short order.
     
  4. RickDee

    RickDee SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Posts:
    548
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    The Serenity Prayer
    Path

    God grant me the serenity
    to accept the things I cannot change;
    courage to change the things I can;
    and wisdom to know the difference.

    Living one day at a time;
    Enjoying one moment at a time;
    Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
    Taking, as He did, this sinful world
    as it is, not as I would have it;
    Trusting that He will make all things right
    if I surrender to His Will;
    That I may be reasonably happy in this life
    and supremely happy with Him
    Forever in the next.
    Amen.

    --Reinhold Niebuhr
     
  5. R0ss

    R0ss SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Posts:
    821
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ayer, Ma
    In the not too distant past the software did allow the user to disable the update feature. I was under the impression that feature was disabled to prevent or reduce tech support calls that were a result of receivers not being updated with the latest software.
    It is easy enough to change it to a time of day when you don't normally watch tv, odd that yours is set to 7am I always thought 3am was the default....
    As a parent, both are adults now, I do understand that changes in noise level while sleeping can wake you up. Out of curiosity have you tried one of the devices that generates white noise? We found they work for us and have a significantly smaller impact on the electric bill.

    Ross

    Sent from my rooted DROIDX (Liberty Gingerbread) using SatelliteGuys
     
  6. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    9,335
    Likes Received:
    1,805
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    That update is also when it refreshes and downloads the 9 day guide to the hard drive.

    Sent from my HTC Flyer
     
  7. Teehar

    Teehar SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Posts:
    8,355
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    WNC
    Yep they no longer give the option to disable the update feature.I wanted to keep my 612 from taking the new guide scheme that the 722 had already received went through every menu option and there was no way to disable it.Now the 612 has the same green my channel list and all channels is no longer an option.
     
  8. Iceberg

    Iceberg The No Pain Train
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    0
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    The Lake House
    it can be changed but also isnt that when the 4 hour "inactivity" kicks in?
    3am reboot.....7am being 4 hours later
     
  9. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20,076
    Likes Received:
    3,411
    Location:
    Indy
    The inactivity can be disabled. Then, the only time it needs to be woken up is after the updates, which can be done with a timer.
     
  10. 3HaloODST

    3HaloODST SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Posts:
    6,648
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Earth
    Dish disabled the ability to disable updates back in late '09. It never really was a good idea to disable updates anyway. Anyway, I think KAB nailed it on the head. Just set up an auto-tune timer to your favorite channel and time, and it will automatically turn the receiver back on.

    Personally I can't stand sleeping with the TV on, I start hearing commercials and things in my dreams. They're bad enough in real life! Plus when I'm asleep I don't skip them. Someday I'll work on that lucid dreaming. Meanwhile I just set my TV to sleep after about an hour or 2. Also I think my quality of sleep is better when the TV isn't yabbering all night at me and flashing lights.

    Serenity now... Insanity later.
     
  11. robk299

    robk299 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Posts:
    293
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Cahokia, IL
    How about setting it to a time when you're either not home or awake & not watching anything?
     
  12. Dah-Henny

    Dah-Henny SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Posts:
    3,666
    Likes Received:
    345
    Location:
    Boone, North Carolina
    Yep, set it to update in the middle of the day or something.
     
  13. Dee_Ann

    Dee_Ann Topic Starter Angry consumer!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Texas



    I have a multitude of sleep disorders and several physical disabilities that prevent me from sleeping like normal people. I have no circadian clock. I tend to sleep days and stay up nights but over a period of two to three months, my clock rotates.


    Noon for you is always at noon. For me, this week, noon is around 9pm. Next week my noon will be 10ish. Week after that, 11ish.. And so on.. A few times a year I'll roll my hours over to where I'm getting up with the sun and going to bed 9 to 10pm but that never lasts but for a few weeks at the most and it's right back to the same old routine. My mom was the same way so it's partially inherited and partially due to physical problems.


    So it is impossible for me to set anything to a regimented routine. I would have to reprogram the updates thing every single week.


    Yesterday morning I saw the thing come on screen warning me that it was about to do it's thing. I let it just to take notes as to what was happening.
    One thing it did that took forever was it was checking the disk for errors. That took quite a while. All in all, everything it did took close to 25 minutes.. :mad:


    I wouldn't mind if this was once a week but every day???????? :mad:













    I'm out of timers.. It only allows 32 timers. Most of them are taken up with auto-tune during the daytime for assorted shows I like (court, judge, talk, etc..) The others are to record series that I like..
    I find 32 timers to be rather limited.. :(







    I'm Buddhist.
    namaste.gif
    But I appreciate the thought..


    :)
     
    #13 Dee_Ann, Mar 19, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2012
  14. Dee_Ann

    Dee_Ann Topic Starter Angry consumer!

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Posts:
    3,419
    Likes Received:
    282
    Location:
    Texas
  15. whatchel1

    whatchel1 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Posts:
    9,095
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Great High Plains
    Didn't know the 211 had so few. I find the 99 on the 722k to limited at times.
     
  16. dare2be

    dare2be SatelliteGuys God
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    11,616
    Likes Received:
    5,789
    Location:
    FL
    I'm atheist. ;)

    But there is wisdom/common sense in that prayer... :)

    So, changing the reboot time is not an option, and neither is setting an auto-tune timer to wake it up. How about sleeping with the radio on instead of the TV. :) Just trying to help.
     
  17. cosmo_kramer

    cosmo_kramer Master of my Domain

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2005
    Posts:
    17,701
    Likes Received:
    10,546
    Location:
    41.605N, -72.879W
    I thought the limitation was based on events, not necessarily timers. Depending on how the timer is set up, and the number of times a show's episodes are broadcast, those events could get eaten up rather quickly...
     
  18. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20,076
    Likes Received:
    3,411
    Location:
    Indy
    Should be 64 timers for 211/K with EHD.

    EKB: Build Your Own DVR
     
  19. dwarren2

    dwarren2 SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Posts:
    4,076
    Likes Received:
    287
    Location:
    Rochester, NY Region
    If you add an ehd for a 1 time fee of $40. It will turn your 211 into a dvr where you can record to the ehd instead of an external device. I did hat to my 211 and that gave me about 40 hours of hd storage.
     
  20. KAB

    KAB SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Posts:
    20,076
    Likes Received:
    3,411
    Location:
    Indy
    She already has one.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...