Dish 1000.4 & the Eastern Arc

Ghpr13

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Jul 1, 2009
Louisville, KY
I'm new to Dish, just signed up in June, and I was getting a lot of rain fade even when it was just a moderate rain (no wind or lightning). I had a tech come out and he adjusted my dish, then told me that I have a 1000.4 dish and I'm on the Eastern arc. He claim that Dish doesn't want to admit it but this set up is prone to rain fade.
Being new to Dish I'm not sure how to take that. What do you all think? Is this basically true, or was the tech just making excuses?
I'm in Louisville, KY.
Thanks for all replys,
Ghpr13:)

BTW: I posted this question in another thread but didn't receive any replys.

Last edited:
Dish has a minimum signal strenght on the eastern arch as well as other dishes too.
The minimum signal strength on the eastern arch is as follows

Satellite Transponder Min Signal
77 16 52
77 20 53
77 21 56
72 15 55
72 17 53
72 21 52
61.5 14 66
61.5 29 61
61.5 31 61
61.5 32 48

If the signals are at this or within a couple of points and you are still having issues with rain fade their is nothing more the tech can do.These number are for the area that I`m in they could be a little different in your area just make sure these numbers apply in your area before calling dish back out. Hope this helps

I have the Eastern Arc set up, I don't have any issues with it.

Dish has a minimum signal strenght on the eastern arch as well as other dishes too.

77 16 52
77 20 53
77 21 56
72 15 55
72 17 53
72 21 52
61.5 14 66
61.5 29 61
61.5 31 61
61.5 32 48

If the signals are at this or within a couple of points and you are still having issues with rain fade their is nothing more the tech can do.These number are for the area that I`m in they could be a little different in your area just make sure these numbers apply in your area before calling dish back out. Hope this helps