Dish 522 Reception Problem - Sat 119

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

Manu Narayan

Original poster
Jun 25, 2005
Hey everyone. I've been using dishnetwork for about 3 years, 9 months at this one location, no problems to date...until a few weeks ago.

I noticed that some channels would come in 'garbled' and some DVR events were getting dropped, saying something about signal loss. I am not home that often and do not rabidly watch TV, so it wasn't a huge concern. I assumed it was a temporary network glitch. However, its been persistent, and today, being a day off, I decided to investigate further. I did a reset on my box. No luck.

I called up Dishnetwork. they had me do a reset on the box. They had me check the cables, and then go into the menu > system setup > point dish. (they checked my software version also) I guess My sat 119 is only getting 44 signal, which she said was low.

She then had me do a check switch, the results as follows:
Sat Input 1:
Port 1 Sat 119 (red ex)
Port 2 Sat 110 (ok)

sat Input 2
Port 1 Sat 119 (red ex)
Port 2 Sat 110 (ok)

Device says twin all across.
Satus says reception error
Switch is DP Twin

if I go to details, I get:
Sat Input 1
LNB status: Direct Connect to a DP-Twin.
DP Twin -0 119 odd 110 even, odd

sat Input 2
LNB status: Direct Connect to a DP-Twin
DP-Twin-0 119, Odd 110 Even, Odd

I also went up to the roof of my apartment, I saw no new foiliage. Its sunny california, so the weather is not an issue, there was no apparent damage to the dish. The dish is mounted pretty well, no wobble or shakes in it, so I don't think it is an issue of it moving...