Dish 625 + 301 misery!!!! What hath I wrought?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

Skwerl

Original poster
Oct 20, 2011
Jamesburg, NJ
So here I am thinking I am a tech savvy chick: heck I installed the darn thing in 2002 [with the help of a QAS and FS1 and a simple 501, 301 combination that worked very well lo these many years]...how hard could it be?

I have grown to regret those insolent words.

I have upgraded to a Dish 625 on the 2nd floor for 2 tv's, and the original 311 to 1 tv on the 1st floor. I do not have house distribution cabling on the 2nd floor as it is an old mother/daughter house.

The dish is a DP500 dual LNB, I cannot recall the switch [possibly a 1in2] with a line running to the downstairs apartment and another to the upstairs apartment.

At the recommendation of Dish Tech Support, I was told to put a splitter on the coax for the 2nd floor, then connect to the triplexer that came with the receiver with a short bit of coax. When I started the installation [menu 6-1-1] ran a check switch and received error message about switch connection incorrect. Sat1 & sat2 are not uniform: sat1 has 119 & 110, sat2 has 119 only. I checked the 1st floor 311 and ran a check switch on that- the 311 had 110 only.

Recap: 625 sat1 has 119 & 110, sat2 has 119 only. 311 has 110 only. Splitter connected on the 625 line is in the splitter input, one output to the triplexer, and other output goes to 2nd tv to be used with the 625. Also: the splitter is old: at least 12 yrs old and was used when I had cable many moons ago.

What did I do wrong?

You listened to somebody at Dish Tech Support who did not grasp the situation.