Dish Aiming help

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

coldiron

Original poster
Jan 8, 2006
Hi,
I'm a noob, and I've jumped in with both feet. I am struggling like most noobs here with my dish alignment. Please let me know if I am doing something wrong, or if I just need to be more persistant. I am getting some channels, but I'm not sure I'm on the sat I think I am, and I got lost when adding the motor.

Here is what I have done. I Live in Dayton Ohio, 45459 and have determined that my longitude is 84. With that info, my true south sat should be brasilsat b3. I think I have calculated my az correctly, and allowing for magnetic del., my compass heading for true south should be 184. My elevation should be 44

I attempted to align the dish with the aid of an sf-95 signal finder and ended up on AMC3 which is at 87 instead of my desired 84. Today was real cloudy, so I said close enough and went on to adding my motor.

Although I quickly got a strong sat signal, I did not re-acquire the same satellite and got poor results when scanning for channels. I started getting confused on the elevation settings when attaching the motor. The way I understand it is I set the motor elevation to my latitude of 39, then set the dish at 30deg min 6.1 for my del. angle, which I did After a while I got cold and tired and quit for the day.