Dish backing structures

mrschwarz

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
May 17, 2004
When I upgraded to a VIP722K in my RV, I got a 1000.2 dish on a tripod. The backing structure is the same one I have been seeing on all other dishesm except a few. I am seeing a 'Dot4 backing structure that looks like it has a screw adjustment for the elevation instead of a locking nut. I am not all that good at aiming the dish. I haven't actually had it aimed since I left the area where the installer set it up.

Can I buy one of the new backing structures to replace the one I have? Can anyone give a total newbie some basic step by step instructions on how to aim the dish? The backing structure has angles stamped into the metal. I have no idea where the vernier line that I use the angle with goes. Do I line the angle up with the locking nut or is it somewhere else?