Dish fell over and doesn't work

Discussion in 'DIRECTV Support Forum' started by rbdaves, Jun 4, 2018.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.
  1. rbdaves

    rbdaves Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    I have a DirecTV Slimline Sat. dish with an DIRECTV SL3-SWM SlimLine Single Wire Ka/Ku Triple LNB.
    I travel with this dish and set it up on a tripod. I'm in a windy area and before I could properly secure the tripod, it blew over. I was able to get the mounting bracket replaced and aimed the dish successfully. However, a couple days ago, I was aiming the dish using a Satlook Light satellite finder that I have used for several years and I got a message "SWM over voltage". I don't know what this means, but I have not been able to acquire 99, 101 or 103 satellites. I've used two different cables without success. I am guessing that the SWM has failed and I have ordered DIRECTV SL3-SWM SlimLine Single Wire Ka/Ku Triple LNB with Built-In Multiswitch from Amazon. When I go through the screens during the aiming process, I see that I have an SL3-LNB. I hope I have ordered the correct part and am wondering what a "Built-in Multiswitch" is and if there is anything I need to know about it. Thanks

     
  2. rbdaves

    rbdaves Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    I installed the DIRECTV SL3-SWM SlimLine Single Wire Ka/Ku Triple LNB and proceeded to aim the dish. Got the three satellites acquired with good signal strength, but had to set the elevation at 43, rather than the 35 that the DirecTV program provided.
     
    whitewolf8214 and Tampa8 like this.
  3. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,127
    Likes Received:
    8,803
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    You are likely looking at the wrong place for the elevation setting. On this dish the elevation is set to 39°. dish elevation.jpg
     
    whitewolf8214 and Jimbo like this.
  4. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,127
    Likes Received:
    8,803
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Some dishes have a red line to indicate the elevation. elevation.jpg
     
    whitewolf8214 likes this.
  5. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,439
    Likes Received:
    2,472
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    If the dish fell over, likely it’s bent and you might as well get a new dish.


    I have dropped several slimline dishes over the years.

    It may not look bent, but it won’t pick up a signal
     
    Jimbo likes this.
  6. HoTat2

    HoTat2 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Posts:
    958
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA.
    Oh, and a built-in or "integrated" multiswitch simply means the circuitry comprising the SWiM multiswitch is conveniently incorporated into the LNB housing itself.

    Instead of external to it with multiple (usually 4) coax lines fed from a non-SWiM or "legacy" type 13v/18v voltage/22 KHz tone controlled and powered LNB.


    Sent from my LG-H932 using Tapatalk
     
  7. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,127
    Likes Received:
    8,803
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    A bent arm would explain having to adjust the elevation so far from the given number.
     
  8. rbdaves

    rbdaves Topic Starter Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Posts:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    It turns out that the dish had been bent. Although it wasn't necessary, I purchased a "ready to install" kit. Once I assembled the unit, I was able to get all sats acquired with better signals than I had with the old dish. I have traveled with the old dish for many years and, over time, the signal strength readings declined. It didn't register with me because it happened slowly. The dish had been knocked over before and had been transported in the basement of my RV for years. I felt that I should replace everything to avoid having to order parts piecemeal and wait several days with each order and have no TV. Anyway, this new dish assembly is working much better and life is good.
     
    Jimbo and raoul5788 like this.
  9. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    26,127
    Likes Received:
    8,803
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    Were you able to use the correct elevation numbers?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies due to lack of activity. Consider opening a new thread instead.

Separate names with a comma.

More...