Dish Network and FTA

Status
Please reply by conversation.

spydrplus

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Feb 15, 2007
I am new to the whole FTA thing, but I have been installing for Dish Network for a while now so I am picking up rather quickly. One thing I am confused on though, is how the satellite providers play in to the FTA arena. I was installing the other day and the neighbor of one of my customers asked me about setting up a dish for him to run his FTA receiver off of. I declined thinking that using these receivers to pick up subscription satellite was illegal, but he explained to me that Dish was unencrypted and that there were no laws broken in doing this.

Basically, my question is: is there any validity in that? I didn't even think the average FTA box could pick up Dish signal even if it was unencrypted MPEG2. I figured most of the people here would be able to straighten that up for me though so I have something intelligent to say to the next person who asks :)

Dish is encrypted. Only a few channels are not encrypted, but nothing worth watching except for maybe NASA.

The guy was doing something illegal with his FTA box having 3rd party software loaded on it.

Last edited:
Dish does use standard DVB signals, so any DVB receiver can pick up the few unencrypted channels up there. 119w has the most, with NASA and lots of audio. If the guy was talking HBO, Cinemax, PPV, etc., he's hacking.

DirecTV, on the other hand, uses proprietary signals that are not DVB compliant. No FTA receiver can see them.

Ah, I guess that's why I get so many requests to set up dishes under the table with dish, and didn't ever get that request with directv. How do they send different signals if it's from the same satellites as directv? Is one cheaper to transmit or something?

Are you sure? I've always been told that dish leases some transponders from directv

Are you sure? I've always been told that dish leases some transponders from directv

positive.