DISH OTA antenna

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by PortlandChris, Aug 11, 2019.

  1. PortlandChris

    PortlandChris Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Guys, tired of losing locals, and not getting credit for the loss in the bill, I contacted DISH about this and they offered to install an OTA antenna, free of charge. With no extension of contract. I am way out of contract and I do not want to get back into one.

    So how does the wiring work? Do they need to run a separate line from the antenna to the master Hopper unit? Or do they patch it into the existing coax line running the DISH satellite?

    Then what happens if someday I want to leave DISH? Is this antenna owned by me or DISH and do I have to return it?

    Or can I still patch it into my TV? Or use it through - say AirTV player and get Sling or one of the other streaming services?

    No one knows if I can get good reception or not. DISH thinks I can, but we have lots of hills, etc, around me. Most of the towers are about 8 miles away from me. Not sure I want to spend all this time and drill new holes in the roof if its not going to work. I know of no local neighbors with an antenna, there probably is one, but I have not found one.

    This all comes up on the expiration of my Comcast internet term in October, so in order to keep a decent rate I may need to go back Comcast (whom I have not been with in more than 15 years).
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  2. cpdretired

    cpdretired Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Posts:
    549
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Lemont, Il.
    A separate coax is run from to the antenna to the location of the Hopper. An OTA module is then connected to the coax & then plugged into the rear of the Hopper.
    The Hopper is rebooted and channels are scanned. You will have guide data for the network channels. Some of the sub-channels may not have the guide information.

     
    charlesrshell and HipKat like this.
  3. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,237
    Likes Received:
    8,600
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    ...and you own the antenna, which will work with your TV, possibly better than through the Hopper, but by going through the Hopper, you'll have the Dual Tuner adapter, see your channels in the Hopper Program guide and be able to record them, plus you can drop your locals through Dish and save 12 bucks a month.

    BTW, don't blame Dish for disputed - call the providers and let them know your feelings.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  4. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    368
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    If I go OTA will I still be able to use the H3 to Record/DVR the OTA Channels?

    The easy access to locals via H3 & J4K + the Guide are one of the reasons I haven't considered going OTA.

    I also get Pissed every time a storm or whatever knocks out the Locals. Does it become complicated going OTA especially for the rest of the {Cough-Cough} Family (They ask the same simple/stupid/never seem to get it questions over & over about DishTV this or that!!!)
     
  5. Bobby

    Bobby Publican Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    56,478
    Likes Received:
    9,884
    Location:
    Rohnert Park, CA
    Yes, you will be able to record/DVR the OTA channels. They will appear in your guide along with the satellite OTA channels but will carry a -01 channel number. Keep in mind that you will only be able to view/record two OTA channels at a time because that is the capability of the 2 tuner OTA adapter.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  6. DISH Support

    DISH Support OFFICIAL DISH SUPPORT Staff Member DISH DIRT TEAM!

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2019
    Posts:
    201
    Likes Received:
    304

    Our techs will definitely try to get you all the locals. Adding this does not extend a contract. If you are going to receive an indoor antenna, then the antenna would be placed on a window inside, for example, then a coax connection will run into the OTA adapter, then the adapter to the back of your receiver. External holes would not be drilled.

    If you are going to receive an outdoor antenna, then you will have a coax cable coming from the outdoor OTA outside that may require a new hole to be drilled, then to the adapter inside, to the receiver. In the future, you may connect the OTA directly to your TV, as well as we would not require it back.

    -Christina W.
     
    peggy97850 and charlesrshell like this.
  7. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    368
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    So, I'll still be able to record 2 OTA at the same time + multi-record at the same time non-OTA channels?

    HipKat, I see you posted while I was slow to post, you had already inadvertently answered one of my Qs, LOL, Thank-U...Had to take the Dog out!

    Do most of you in the know go the OTA Route instead of the DishTV Locals Route?
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  8. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,237
    Likes Received:
    8,600
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    I have OTA's in lieu of Dish Locals, but I rarely record OTA's and if any, are on the FOX Network. None on the other 3 Networks that I can think of off hand
     
    LQQK likes this.
  9. PortlandChris

    PortlandChris Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Thanks guys, much appreciation.

    If I do drop locals, I presume I might lose the Fox, ABC, and NBC on demand features that require a subscription?

    And ESPN3 often plays ABC sports programming....do I lose the ABC feed inside ESPN3?

    And we can get locals and sub channels that are not on DISH? That seems like a plus.

    DISH tells me this would be the antenna, an outdoor model. Save $120/year with an Outdoor Over-the-Air Antenna from DISH | MyDISH | DISH Customer Support

    Seems like a no lose proposition...meaning I have options when all these disputes happen.....
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  10. ferl

    ferl SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Troy, IL
    Just FYI, I just contacted Dish and the offer is not available to me. Go figure. Before the hopper I had 722's and could receive all my local stations via an ota antenna just fine. Now they offer me a $30 credit and the dongle costs $60 :) They wouldn't even just send me the dongle. While some folks get free installation, an antenna and a dongle, I'm offered half the price of one component. Dish makes it really hard to not jump ship.
    Do the dongles work? I thought there were all kinds of functionality issues with the dongle.
     
  11. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,237
    Likes Received:
    8,600
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    No, the new dongles, or OTA Adapters are fine. I have no idea why you can't get one, but I'll tell you, if you only talked to the person that answered the phone, the front line CSR, you want to get to Loyalty. They have all the power.
     
    NYDutch and charlesrshell like this.
  12. ferl

    ferl SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Troy, IL
    I was transferred to loyalty. Front line offered me $5 and loyalty valued my loyalty at $30. I even asked the loyalty rep to just send me the dongle and he apparently was of the opinion that I was only worth $30. It's a shame actually. Prior to losing HBO I had the 250 package, Showtime and HBO. Forcing me to shop elsewhere for HBO made me realize that I was spending way too much on TV. Now I'm down to a 120 and showtime. I explained that to loyalty also, but I'm still only worth $30. HBO was great on dish and not as user friendly on the streaming service.

    How does one know if a dongle or OTA adapter is one of the new ones? I'm assuming the OTA adapter and dongle on the same device.
     
    #12 ferl, Aug 11, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2019
  13. LQQK

    LQQK SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Posts:
    368
    Likes Received:
    259
    Location:
    Lincoln, Nebraska
    Where are you getting HBO from?
     
  14. reubenray

    reubenray SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Posts:
    196
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Elberta, AL
    Order the OTA Dual Tuner Adapter yourself from Products | AirTV. Scroll down to the accessories to find it.
     
    ferl likes this.
  15. ferl

    ferl SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Troy, IL
    HBO NOW via Roku
     
    MikeD-C05 and LQQK like this.
  16. ferl

    ferl SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Troy, IL
    Thanks, I was just reading about them a moment ago.
     
  17. dare2be

    dare2be SatelliteGuys God Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Posts:
    11,992
    Likes Received:
    6,444
    Location:
    FL
    I'm just the opposite. There's nothing on FOX that I watch. Especially now that The Orville is gone.
     
  18. DJ Lon

    DJ Lon SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Posts:
    274
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
  19. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    5,237
    Likes Received:
    8,600
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    I'm a Chef Ramsey fan lol
     
    DWS44 and charlesrshell like this.
  20. sam_gordon

    sam_gordon SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Posts:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    722
    Location:
    Lexington, ky
    8 miles is nothing for RF. Barring hills between your house and the transmitters, you should have no problems picking up OTA. You can always look at tvfool.com to see what you should end up getting.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.

Separate names with a comma.

More...