Dish question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Ed4353

Original poster
Jul 12, 2005
I'm just curious at this point. I have an old 38 inch DirecPC dish that I have been using for 3 years with DirecTV. I recently upgraded to HD, and replaced it with the 18x20 dish, and triple LNB. As it turns out, that LNB will fit on to the big dish without modification. What are the chances of getting better signal strength with the bigger dish (more capture area)? It may be a nightmare to aim, but I'm stubborn, and persistent.
Also, with the new 102, and 98 (or 99) satellites, I would not be surprised if a bigger dish is required, to see all the birds. Anyone have any thoughts/input on this? Or, am I crazy, like my wife says?
Ed

Ed4353 said:
I'm just curious at this point. I have an old 38 inch DirecPC dish that I have been using for 3 years with DirecTV. I recently upgraded to HD, and replaced it with the 18x20 dish, and triple LNB. As it turns out, that LNB will fit on to the big dish without modification. What are the chances of getting better signal strength with the bigger dish (more capture area)? It may be a nightmare to aim, but I'm stubborn, and persistent.
Also, with the new 102, and 98 (or 99) satellites, I would not be surprised if a bigger dish is required, to see all the birds. Anyone have any thoughts/input on this? Or, am I crazy, like my wife says?
Ed

i cant comment on your old dish...

however the new dishes are quite large as they have to receive a different type of signal... and they are 5 lnb as well.