DISH to work with the Google Assistant

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by Scott Greczkowski, Jan 10, 2018.

  1. Scott Greczkowski

    Scott Greczkowski Topic Starter Scanning the Skies!
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    95,746
    Likes Received:
    10,171
    Location:
    Newington, Connecticut
    DISH to work with the Google Assistant; bringing multi-language voice control to Hands-Free TV experience

    -- Spanish-language support for DishLATINO customers
    -- Available on Hopper, Joey and Wally set-top boxes paired with the Google Assistant


    ENGLEWOOD, Colo., Jan. 10, 2018 /PRNewswire/ -- DISH today announced that its customers will have the ability to watch Hands-Free TVTM using the Google Assistant in the coming months. This marks the first time that DISH customers with a Hopper, Joey or Wally can use voice to control their TV in multiple languages, including English and Spanish.

    [​IMG]

    "Throughout 2017, DISH took major strides toward building a suite of voice control options for our customers, including a new DISH voice remote," said Niraj Desai, DISH vice president of product management. "We're pleased to be working with the Google Assistant to offer our customers the ability to control Hopper's video experiences through the Assistant on speakers and phones."

    Starting in the first half of this year, DISH customers with a broadband-connected Hopper DVR (all generations), Joey client (all models) or Wally single-tuner HD receiver can use the Google Assistant to control their TV when paired with the Assistant on speakers like Google Home, Android phones or iPhones.

    The Google Assistant will be able to help you navigate, play, pause, fast-forward, rewind and search TV content based on channel, title, actor and genre. Below are examples of commands you will be able to ask the Assistant:

    ● "Change channel to ESPN"

    ● "Tune to channel 130"

    ● "Go to the History Channel"

    ● "Find the Big Bang Theory"

    ● "Search for Game of Thrones"

    ● "Search for home improvement shows"

    ● "Show me Tom Hanks movies"

    ● "Play This is Us"

    ● "Skip forward"

    ● "Rewind 30 seconds"

    ● "Pause"

    ● "Resume"

    In addition to the Google Assistant, DISH's voice control technology suite includes a recently released voice remote that ships at no extra cost with all Hopper DVRs.
     
  2. Cold Irons

    Cold Irons SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Posts:
    610
    Likes Received:
    152
    Location:
    Fredericksburg, VA
    Good deal! My son got me a Google Home for Xmas, will be fun to try it out.
     
  3. budda

    budda SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Posts:
    563
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Oconomowoc
    What he said!
     
  4. syphix

    syphix SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    402
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    I was so hoping this would happen. Our family is so entrenched with Google Homes (2 minis and the original), that getting a Echo was never gonna happen. It may be gimmicky for the most part, but for searches it’ll be nice.
     
    gregleg likes this.
  5. ERSanders

    ERSanders SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Fairport, NY
    Another "SOON" from Dish... when is the question.

    We had an Alexa so my wife could make voice calls for help if she needed it, BUT Alexa will (would?) only call another person with an Alexa, so we went to Google. The Google devices will call anyone on you phone list, except 911 (kinda stupid I think, but maybe to reduce "accidental kid" calls.
     
  6. lparsons21

    lparsons21 SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Posts:
    7,206
    Likes Received:
    3,852
    Location:
    Herrin, IL 62948
    You can make calls to anyone with the Echos now. I call from either my echo or Google Home devices depending on where I'm at when I want to make a call and where I'm at in my house when doing it. Both work equally well for that IMO.

    Currently the Echo devices have more 'things' they can do, primarily because they were first to market. Google is coming on strong though, not just with Home devices, but some devices coming from 3rd parties with Google Assistant built in.
     
  7. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    3,788
    Likes Received:
    3,041
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    I wish they would have announced this alongside a rollout of Dish Anywhere on other platforms besides Amazon. It would make sense to allow DA on Chromebox and Roku. Especially if they’re now interfacing with Google Assistant.
     
    tetrode likes this.
  8. lparsons21

    lparsons21 SatelliteGuys Master
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Posts:
    7,206
    Likes Received:
    3,852
    Location:
    Herrin, IL 62948
    What I've found so far is that 'interfacing' is a really broad term. Virtually everything that I've fiddled with using these smart speakers has worked to some extent, but in general it isn't quite as handy as it probably will be going forward. Right now IMO, it is more tinkering with tech for lots of those things.

    So far I've installed LED dimmable dumb bulbs in the house and am utilizing Lutron Caseta Dimmers with hub to do voice control. And my Harmony Hub is also working with it, though not handy enough to actually use it regularly. And my Emerson Sensi wifi thermostat works with voice also.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  9. syphix

    syphix SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    402
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    It’s out! And works...ok. Searches using my Google Home on my Hopper result in the Home saying, “Hmmm...something went wrong. Try again in a few moments.”

    Pause, play, and rewind/fast forward work fine (though I always have to to “on the Hopper” so it doesn’t get confused with my Googlecast which is connected to the same TV...kinda laborious). Just need to get searches working...
     
  10. ERSanders

    ERSanders SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Fairport, NY
    I get an error ERR_UNKNOWN_URL_SCHEME . Tried it 3x without success. Does it need S/W beyond 517?
     
  11. syphix

    syphix SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Posts:
    402
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Perhaps. I have 518.
     
  12. ERSanders

    ERSanders SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Fairport, NY
    No longer a problem. It was a cell phone browser issue.
     
  13. peggy97850

    peggy97850 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    533
    Likes Received:
    171
    Location:
    Western US
    Happy to see it's available using my (almost free) Insignia voice speaker as well as Google Home. Since it can't make phone calls I wasn't sure it would work.
     
  14. ERSanders

    ERSanders SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Posts:
    372
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Fairport, NY
    Also had a minor problem that Google seemed to marry with one of my lesser used Joeys, so I had to say (just once) "Hopper... then the specific command". That worked!
     
  15. bluegras

    bluegras SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Posts:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    712
  16. Darrell S

    Darrell S SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,152
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Parts Unknown
  17. jerryez

    jerryez Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    4,063
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Pensacola,FL
    Soon! Hope it works better than with Alexa!
     
  18. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,890
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Well, what is everyone thinking about this Google Assistant? Is it better than Alexa? Does the Google Home Mini do everything the Alexa does? Is the Google Home Mini the way to go or is the Google Home the best way? Does using your smart phone work pretty good with Google Assistant? Thanks for any help.
     
  19. bacchus101

    bacchus101 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    494
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    .
    I'm already back to using Alexa.

    First of all, it breaks Smartthings (harmony) functionality so I can no longer turn on/off TVs or control volume. Half the time it says it can't do that or asks me what device (and I tell it to no avail). The rest of the time, it just starts playing something on the home itself: "Hey Google, change channel to ESPN" - and it starts playing ESPN radio on the home closest to me.

    That said, it might be useful if all you have is one hopper and one home device.

    They neglected to have any configurable settings in the home app (dish interface) itself to chose defaults (duh!) so when you say "Change channel to ESPN" and the master bedroom home hears that phrase, it should know to tune to the master bedroom default device (it doesn't) not the living room hopper or the guest room joey...


    They should have the bugs worked out in 18-36 months.
     
    crodrules and charlesrshell like this.
  20. charlesrshell

    charlesrshell SatelliteGuys Crazy
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    6,890
    Likes Received:
    1,873
    Location:
    O'Fallon, IL 62269
    Thanks. Can more than one smartphone be paired to the same Hopper/Google Assistant?
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...