Dish - What to do about poor Sub Contractor's?

Technician1313

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Feb 4, 2011
New Mexico
I'm a DNS technician, and every other Tech in my area does an EXCELLENT job. Unfortunately, we sometimes have to turn to Sub Contractors to help us with overflow work. Most of the time, it's done by a specific company, and we end up having to completely redo their work.

It's not good for the customer's, and it's not good for the image of our company. I wish there was another solution, but unfortunately we have to use them.

I've personally seen this company use many parts that were not approved by Dish Network. One of the biggest incidents was when they used an unapproved flat cable to go through a window, and it caught on fire. Luckily, the customer caught it before it burnt her house down. (It literally shot flames up, and melted her plastic window.)

I feel that they are the most frustrating thing to deal with, and I want to figure out a solution. I've discussed it with my FSM, but I'm under the impression that there is not much we can do.

My FSM told me that if they get QUAS'd, they still get paid if they do a bad job. The only way they don't get paid is if they use unapproved parts. Unfortunately, it's a rural area, and I don't think they get QUAS'd enough to make them change their inventory. It's also disturbing that they can do the worst job ever, and have no consequences.

So, have any other Dish employees figured out a solution to this problem?

report every job with pictures of the crap work they do. Convince customers to file damage claims. we have ran out a few crappy subs that have wandered thru our area before

If the contractor does not drive a DISH NETWORK truck and does not wear a DISH NETWORK outfit, call customer service and request an installer who will for sure drive a DISH NETWORK truck with a outfit. We got the rights to get the best installation and service.