DishNet Satellite Technical and Install Info

mrdap

Original poster
Dec 19, 2006
Hello to All,

I am a newbee to the forum, but not a total stranger to satellites. I had a 12' C/Ku band dish for 9 years and I loved it. I have had a DishNet 500 system at two different homes for about 8 years as well.

The install on the second house was terrible, very unhappy.

Now I am upgrading to HD (have the TV) and I want to upgrade to a ViP622 HD DVR.

I am a technical person and have the skills and tools to do just about anything, but I have little knowledge of DBS systems. Any tools I need I will buy or borrow.
Where can I go to get detailed information on the different types of dishes, LNB, satellites, and installation configuration, switches and diplexers, etc?

I called DishNet for some info. and was very frustrated with the inability of the cust serv. dept to give me a straight answer. Because of this and the bad install last time, I am thinking on doing most of the install myself, I doubt I will get it the way I want it if I don't. But I probably can't go on the roof.

I want to integrate my off-air antenna and my basic cable with the sat into a whole house system with two dual tuner receivers with feeds to up to 8 rooms, but not all at once.

Some basic questions I have, so far, are, which satllites do I need? How many dishes do I need? how many LNBs do I need, and what are the basics of wiring LNBs.

Could someone point me to a website or a book to come up to speed on this?

Thanks in advance for your help!

DAP

Here's a website that has a bunch of documents.
- DishPro Technology
- DishPro Plus Technology
- Switches
- Separators
- Installation Guides & Examples
- Diplexers
- Dish Types
- etc...
- Legacy setup is limited to 100 feet with good cable.
- DishPro & DishPro Plus setups are limited to 200 feet with RG6 cable rated at least to 2150MHz.