Dishnetwork Internet

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by mr.crane, Apr 15, 2019.

  1. mr.crane

    mr.crane Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    523
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    central valley, ca 120° 37' 32.4833"
    How does the Dish internet work. Do they install a special antenna.
     
  2. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    11,881
    Likes Received:
    2,851
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Dish network is not an internet provider. They rely mostly on 3rd parties.

    They do own hughesnet which is satellite internet, but that’s not a true internet service like Comcast and AT&T
     
  3. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    7,240
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Not a true internet service?? Of course it is. It's just not transmitted via coax all the way from the server like cable, and not via phone/data lines like AT&T.

    To the OP, you may end up with either Hughesnet or Viasat/Excede, both of which require the installation of a 2nd Antenna. Both services have download speeds of anywhere form 25-50MB/s, although I'd say average is closer to 30. Both are data capped with speeds throttled way down when data cap is reached and both have multiple data packages to choose from. Both services use Gateways instead of stand alone modems requiring 3rd party routers. And because both are Satellite delivery, both may be affected by weather
     
    dweber, NYDutch and the mack like this.
  4. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    Dish does not own Hughesnet... Hughes Communications is a subsidiary of EchoStar. As HipKat mentioned, Dish contracts with both Hughes and Viasat for their Dishnet branded Internet service.
     
  5. Juan

    Juan Supporting Founder
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    21,100
    Likes Received:
    4,325
    Location:
    Moscow Russia
    Its all owned by charle ergen...kinda of a silly argument

    Sent from my SM-G950U using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  6. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    Yes, Charlie is the chairman and majority stock holder of both companies. But they are still separate companies and Claude should know better. Then again, apparently in his world satellite supplied Internet service is not "true Internet" either, so who knows what he's thinking.
     
  7. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,674
    Likes Received:
    7,408
    Location:
    USA
    Dish hasn't done any Viasat in quite a while. It's Hughesnet only now.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  8. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    Ahh! Thanks for the update!
     
    charlesrshell and JSheridan like this.
  9. navychop

    navychop Member of the Month - July 2014!
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    Posts:
    46,001
    Likes Received:
    10,937
    Location:
    Northern VA
    All those LEO and MEO satellite Internet providers will change the landscape. Assuming they actually get their systems up and running.

    I’m surprised Echostar hasn’t dumped Hughes. Have they invested in any new satellite Internet companies?

    Sent from my iPhone using SatelliteGuys
     
  10. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    7,240
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    Not necessarily true. Our guys have done installs of Viasat 2 recently and I've gone out to service them a few this year. We have a whole stock of the new dish kits, gateways, etc
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  11. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,674
    Likes Received:
    7,408
    Location:
    USA
    That's probably something between your particular company and Viasat. We were told by Dish and our distributor that it's Hughesnet only through them.
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  12. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,674
    Likes Received:
    7,408
    Location:
    USA
    Also, Viasat is not mentioned in the Dish ordering process anymore and the bundling option went away.
     
    NYDutch and charlesrshell like this.
  13. NYDutch

    NYDutch SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Posts:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Location:
    Where our wheels go
    Are you assuming residential Hughesnet is all Hughes Communications does?

    https://www.echostar.com/solutions/hughes.aspx
     
    JSheridan likes this.
  14. JSheridan

    JSheridan Full Time Resident
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Posts:
    7,674
    Likes Received:
    7,408
    Location:
    USA
    It seems like almost every gas station and convenience store I see has a Hughesnet dish on the roof. They're very big in the back-up internet business too.
     
    Tampa8, NYDutch and charlesrshell like this.
  15. rvvaquero

    rvvaquero SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    1,529
    Location:
    Wanderer
    Yep, in more ways than one. There will be so many of them up there, they'll provide shade for Earth and put an end to global warming.
     
    trojan67, NYDutch, TheKrell and 3 others like this.
  16. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    7,240
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    That's possible. I hadn't thought of it
     
    JSheridan and charlesrshell like this.
  17. HipKat

    HipKat SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Posts:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    7,240
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    lol I was quoting Sheridan
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  18. TheKrell

    TheKrell A mighty and noble race originating on Altair IV.
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2007
    Posts:
    23,438
    Likes Received:
    15,484
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Oops. Sorry about that. I have deleted that post.
     
    HipKat likes this.
  19. EarDemon

    EarDemon SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    415
    Location:
    USA
    I have to agree with Claude. Here's my beautiful HughesNet

    Not a cloud in the sky, satellite receive signal strength of 110-111. On a Gen 5 Plan, with the HT2000W modem, but my dish is still pointed at Echostar 17
    [​IMG]
     
    charlesrshell likes this.
  20. stardust3

    stardust3 SatelliteGuys Master
    Pub Member / Supporter Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Posts:
    7,316
    Likes Received:
    4,041
    Location:
    .....

    That's good enough to browse this site with, not much else.

    Claude was off with the wording, he should've said crappy.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...