1. System Upgrade THIS SUNDAY!

    This Sunday SatelliteGuys will be upgrading its forum software to the new 2.x version. The work to upgrade will take a few hours. Work is expected to start early Sunday Morning. For more details please visit our Operations Center Forum

    Thank you for your support!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

DishPointer accuracy

Discussion in 'DishPointer.COM Official Support Forum' started by stecle, Apr 14, 2013.

  1. stecle

    stecle Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    191
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Between the North and South Pole
    I have recently been using the DishPointer to do some site surveys. I bought a Motorola Droid A855 to use the DishPointer program. I was told that this phone is one of the best for DishPointer.

    So far the DishPointer does not seem to be working properly. When I scan the arc the DishPointer gives me a location of the Satellites relative to my location. When I recheck the arc from the exact same location, the Satellites are often shifted from my original reading.

    I performed a further test at my own property. I found a recognizable location in my yard and scanned the arc using the DishPointer on my phone. I located Intelsat 50W right over the peak of my neighbors house. When I checked the arc using the DishPointer program online, it gave me a completely different result.

    I have found that the DishPointer app on my phone will often give you different readings from the exact same location.

    I would appreciate any feedback.

    Thanks

    Steve
     
  2. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,733
    Likes Received:
    5,091
    Location:
    EM75xb
    I have noted that on some phones it does seem a little off but not by much. Hold your phone out and make a big 8 motion like your drawing a large number 8. This makes you look silly but calibrates the compass. So far it works great on my RAZR.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR via Satelliteguys Reader
     
  3. raoul5788

    raoul5788 Studebaker driver Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Supporting Founder Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    27,973
    Likes Received:
    11,191
    Location:
    Cheshire CT
    I agree. I have found recalibrating the compass is important to the accuracy.
     
  4. KE4EST

    KE4EST SatelliteGuys Is My Second Home Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Posts:
    24,733
    Likes Received:
    5,091
    Location:
    EM75xb
    Odd that Allen has not replied to this, but anyway, I was out today and my Razr for the first time was reading wrong....I calibrated it and all was fine, but it did scare me for a moment.
     
  5. AlanSH

    AlanSH DishPointer.COM Admin Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Posts:
    355
    Likes Received:
    2
    Because your answer was spot on. You need to calibrate each time you use the phone. Just swing the phone in a figure 8 motion.
     
  6. navigates

    navigates SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2008
    Posts:
    356
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    good suggestion. When the sats show incorrectly, perform the 8 horizontal motion and then move slightly away and rescan the sky. There may also be some magnetism that interferes with the sat search.
     
  7. Jimbo

    Jimbo SatelliteGuys Master Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Posts:
    60,886
    Likes Received:
    2,739
    Location:
    NW Ohio - Buckeye Country
    I have this issue of each time I have to upgrade my phone, this past time I changed providers, now when I go to load the software it wants me to pay again ... ugh, all this because I originally downloaded from the computer not the play store.

    Therefore I cannot use the app any longer.
     
  8. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    12,713
    Likes Received:
    3,429
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    As a professional installer I find the phone aps are good enough to give you a general idea where the satellites are located. If there are no trees or tall buildings then the app works fine.

    If the line of site is tight, then I will always pull out my trusty inclinometer
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...