Dns Installation What's Really Free?

JohnTenn

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jun 3, 2004
Okay, let me start by stating I am a DNS Contractor. This means I must meet all Dish Network installation requirements. Recently, an issue has come up where several contractors working for me who have charged a customer for "Custom Work", have been told they could not do it. When I asked why not, they explained we couldnt' charge the customer for any part of the install. I spoke to EODN regarding this and finally somebody decided to prove it to me. They hesistated then read it out loud, "Effective Jan 1, 2004, Wall FISH's are no longer included in a basic install". I won this particular battle, but I ended up looking pretty stupid in the customers eyes. What I am looking for is something from Dish Network, (not a retailer), that states exactly what's included in a "FREE" installation, and what the tech is allowed to charge to a customer.

Any help would be appreciated.

Dave nye said:
You will never get that answer from Dish. They want you to do it all for free.

I know they "want" it for free, but I have looked ever several Retailer sites, and they all charge for custom work. I am told that these items are not included in the basic install, but when I ask if a contractor can charge, they say no. I then ask on what do they base this decision. That's where they can't answer me. Nobody seems to be able to give a straight answer. I've spoken to the Installation Managers Internally. Their techs call in a modify work orders, but they don't charge, or pay their techs for custom work.

We charge for custom work. Interior wall fishes are included for free, 1 wall fish per receiver. Exterior wall fishes are charged. Employees are charging $59/hour, contractors can charge anything up to that amount.

Mirror lines are chargable.. including outputting TV2 to a distribution center.