OTHER Do I need a bigger dish?

Michael J.

Original poster
Jul 13, 2016
Glen Rock, NJ
I’m new to FTA. My wife asked me to put together a TV receiver for camping trip in Adirondacks. I know that where we are going there is no OTA signal. I bought TBS5980 USB tuner, Satlink WS-6933 signal meter, Folding portable dish, Standard Single Linear LNB, WSI ESX521U-FE Universal LNB (this one is a piece of garbage). The receiver and a laptop it is connected to use between 14 and 20W which is good because my power plant consist of 35Ah battery and 15W solar panel. I’m testing all above in my home now in northern NJ. My goal is to pick up NBC feeds from SES-3.
First I tried to pick up FTA programming on Galaxy 19. At the beginning I had a problem reading compass. I have this military style one but I don’t think I was able to get accuracy better than 3 degrees. I found a better way: a plum, a piece of paper and GoSkyWatch app. I mark the plum’s string shadow on paper and read current sun azimuth from the app. Next I draw an N-S line and measure satellite true azimuth. I believe it’s more precise than compass. I picked up TV channels and radio with no problem. My SatLink shows me PWR=76 dBuV, S/N 6.9 dB, Quality 35-45%, signal locked. Tuner scanned successfully and I had a solid reception. When I pointed at SES-3 I could not get a signal lock. PWR was even higher reading 78 to 81 dBuV. I tried different DR, any value I could find for feeds. I tried different time up to 10PM. No signal lock. I repeated my procedure with Galaxy 19 and get channels within 5 minutes. Get back to SES-3 and nothing.
Both SES-3 and Galaxy 19 have similar signal strength for my location which is around 49 dBW. The dish is 24x20” and the guy told me it’s an equivalent to 60cm round.
What am I doing wrong? Do I need a bigger dish? Maybe I’m trying the wrong satellite? I found that AMC 6 is out of life and NBC moved to SES-3. On another candidate, AMC 9 I did not see any signal on posted NBC TP.