does the vip622 use a smart card?

jabarryto

Original poster
Apr 24, 2006
My new in the box Vip622 does not have a smart card.

Never bought a dish reciever that didn't use a smart card.

Does this reciever have an embedded smartcard? or am i a victim of bad packaging?

- Barry
sw va.

thanks,

weather holds we're going to try to install today.

Have Dish500 legacy twin/w 61.5 side dish operating a 3900 and a 508.

We're going to leave those as is since the 622 came as a package w/a 1000.2 dish.

- Barry

Well, we spent about 4 hours and never got the first blip of a signal.

I wanted to keep the dish 500 up serving the older recievers and save the ports on the 1000.2 for later expansion. So I placed the 1000.2 just above
the dish 500 w/clear LOS.

I've been playing in sat tv for 20 years, not an installer but a hobbyist.

Put up 3 BUDS of my own,1 primestar, 1 BEV, several dish 500s my own plus several for friends and family (club dish) and even a few DirectTV. Even a motorized stab for mpeg fta. but the 1000.2 has me whupped.

never had the first blip of a signal.

Any good suggestions before I break down and get my dealer to install.

Has anyone else tried a self-install of a 1000.2?

- Barry

"Has anyone else tried a self-install of a 1000.2?"

Yep, it was the easiest dish I've installed. You have to peak on 119 TP 11 and the other two satellites will fall into place.

What kind of cable do you have running from the dish to the receiver? Are you using the DP separator for the 622?

You must use RG6 cable rated to at least 2150 Mhz for DP or DPP. I mention this because you said you had Legacy before. Legacy was more forgiven when it came to cable but Dish Pro and Dish Pro Plus are not.

Me too, install went smooth!!! Peaked on 119 which is port 1 defaulted. Once I did this with a nice level and set dish, 110 and 129 fell into place. Best dish I've ever had and the LNB being integrated into 1 3-sat LNB is nice.