Doing homework about Dish before I switch

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

hotrodbill

Original poster
Dec 27, 2006
Hello all. I am a newbie to this site and to satellite in general. I currently have cable access and I am toying with the idea of switching to dish.

I bought a HD plasma about a month ago and I am now looking into my options to upgrade my other components including service.

I currently do not have any dish equipment but I was planning on buying used stuff online to avoid contracts. I hate contracts!!! They always find a way to screw you over. Same with cell phone companies. I would prefer to spend $300 on a phone then sign a freakin contract.

So here is what I was thinking. Dish 500 antenna, 811 receiver. I only have one TV that I am hooking up. I live in an apartment and getting access to the southern sky is no prob for me. I am not interested in dvr.

Will the dish 500 antenna work with a HD receiver (811, others)?

If i buy my equipment used, can I get service w/o contract?

How is the HD picture? I have noticed some say that the picture quality appears dark and compressed. I defiantly don’t want that. I currently have SD cable, and the picture is nice but why settle with nice when you have the potential to get phenomenal?!

For the other SD channels, how do the compare to local cable company?

What is the best HD receiver for the money?

If I plan to expand my service to include additional SD TV's, I just pay the additional $5/ unit?

If I suscribe to HBO, etc, I would get this programming on all TV's under the account at no extra cost?