DP Question for mult sat.

jmcgee_jr

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
May 3, 2004
Kirkland, WA
Ok I have a 811 and a 511 now with a DP twin. Im moving to a new house that has a DP twin on it as well. So im going to take my dish with me and aim the second DP twin at 61.5. Now my Question is this. Can I take and run one lead from the 110,119 sat to a DP21 and then a lead from the 61.5 sat to the other dp21 input adn then run one lead to the 811 to get both sat signals? Or do I have to have a DP34. Obviously I wont need the 511 to see the 61.5 right? Thanks guys.

There is no 511, is it a 311 maybe? To answer your question, yes run one line from the DP Twin pointed at 119/110 and one from the 61.5 to the DP21 and the output to the 811.

I'm new to the DishPro stuff, so I can't give you a definate answer. But I can tell you why it probably won't work. With the legacy switches, you can't mix two of the same switches. The LEGACY Twins have what is essentially a SW-42 in them, which is why they can be mixed with SW21s in the right combinations. But you can't use two twins, because then you essentially have two SW-42s in the mix.

I know this is at least somewhat true for DishPros, because I know you can not mix a DishProPLUS twin with a DP34. The DPP Twin basically has a DP34, only two of the outputs aren't there. You can't even use a DP21 with a DPP Twin, only a DP44.

I would imagine there are one or more reasons why this wouldn't work for you. The most important is probably using two Twins...two identical switches.

You might be able to put a DP Dual on one of your dishes for 61.5. This would be the most economical solution. But that depends on whether you can mix a DP Twin with a DP21.

There could be other factors as well. I'm finding out that my legacy setup that worked fine for 110/119/148 doesn't work for 110/119/129.

So, wait until you hear from someone with more DP experience, but I wouldn't get your hopes up.