DVI/HDMI or component? plus picture issue

cbgamer13

Original poster
Nov 7, 2006
Hello, I'm new to Dish Network (installed 1 week ago) and have the HD receiver 622. My TV is a 57 inch Hitachi Ultravision rear projection with component and DMI inputs. I recently switched from Comcast HD services. I had a few questions/issues I hoped my experienced people could help me with. Thanks for any help.

1) Should I connect using component cables or get an DVI/HDMI converter or cables? The picture looks good in HD, but does seem slightly softer or more blurry than the Comcast HD picture. I didnot know if this is because I use component and would be better to use my DVI unputs through an HDMI converter or something.

2) I have noticed on 2 nights out of my first week that the picture sometimes gets pixelated for a second or two, or even jumps forward by 1-2 seconds (no always but 5-6 times in an hour). On these days, there has been some cloud cover or light rain, but nothing I would consider major. Do I need to adjust my dish for better signal strength or is this normal? It was not all channels but I really noticed it on HD ESPN and HD Showtime.

Thanks again.

I also have a Hitachi 57in RPTV. I actually have two 622's connected to it (1 with HDMI/DVI and 1 with component. I cannot tell the difference. As far as your other question, that happens sometimes. One thing that you need to check is the signal levels since this is a new install. Go to Menu 6 1 1 and check the signal levels on several different transponders on each of the satellites you receive. Let us know what they say.

When signal strength momentarily drops below decryption level it will cause such pauses and pixellations. Call the installer back to re-peak the dish, especially on satellite 129.

My 129 was so irratic that I replaced it with a Dish 500 looking at 61.5