DVR 510 Connection Question

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

hfthomp

Original poster
Jan 21, 2005
Hey guys, sort of a newbie here, and I thought I'd ask....Anyway, I've had my dish DVR 510 for a while, but just recently got a new TV. Anyway, on my old TV I connected the receiver to my TV with just a co-axial cable. Would I get a better picture if on my new TV I connected it using the S-Video output? Thanks in advance.

Yes, S-video is a superior signal carrier. It will always give you a better picture than RG coax. However, if your tv is less than say 25 inches you may not see a noticeable difference. The difference will be most noticeable on larger displays.

coax, rca cables, s-video

that is a good question and the other post is quite correct. i am more enthusiastic about it though because S-video is MUCH better. i often show customers the difference between the two by hooking up both and it is really noticable. (obviously you will need to be aware that the source on your tv will no longer be channel 3. it will most likely be video 1.) mostly i like your question because you will want to hook up the red and white coded rca cables for stereo sound. don't hook up the yellow coded rca cable though, the S-video will handle that.