DVR625 - Record to DVD

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

Durwood79

Original poster
Dec 19, 2005
I am new to the satellite world. I am attempting to record for the 625 PVR to DVD. Is the S-Video output to way to do this? Is it the only way?

Any advice would be appreciated.

I have a similar question to that of Durwood79, above. I too am using a Dish 625 PVR model and would like to record onto DVD, using my new Samsung DVD-VR325. I am successfully burning DVD's, but I feel that I am losing quality when I transfer from the 625 to the DVD recorder. I would like to use S-video in the transfer, but cannot figure out how to hook up the DVD recorder to the DVD625 through S-video connections. The problem is, the one S-video port in the back of the DVD625 is hooked directly to the TV, leaving no other S-video to hook directly into the DVD recorder. Is there a way to fix this?

Look at your owners manual. The Samsung has and IN and OUT S-video. The IN I believe in in the front.

KAB said:
Look at your owners manual. The Samsung has and IN and OUT S-video. The IN I believe in in the front.
I have a similar set-up. My Dish-311 box is connected via its S-Video out to the front S-Video in of a Toshiba DVD recorder. The rear S-Video out of the recorder is connected to the S-Video in of the TV.

It won't "pass through" when the DVD recorder is switched off, so to watch Dish with that setup, the DVD has to be powered on, set to S-Video in, and not tied up performing any disk operation.