Elliptical dish with two dual LNBs motorized???

Status
Please reply by conversation.

jvfff

Oct 2, 2007
San Francisco Bay Area
Hi everyone!

I'm new to this forum and to the subject of DIY satellite TV in itself. I'm preparing to install my first FTA system and I want to have an option of subscribing to DishNetwork in the future if decide to do so. I want to motorize my dish in order to be able to get access to as many satellites as possible. At the same time I know that if I were to get an elliptical dish, I could have two (or more) LNBs installed on it to get immediate access to, say, 110 and 119. The dish in this configuration is going to be tilted and this raises a doubt in my mind about being able to motorize it. Would it be possible? Can the motor change the tilt as well? Or should I just get a dish with one LNB, motorize it and get access to any available satellite one at a time? As I said, I'm new to this, so I'm asking to forgive me if I'm not making any sense :). I'm not very comfortable though with the one LNB solution because I will probably be stuck with 110 and 119 most of the time making the motor go back and forth switching between the two satellites all the time.
So, my main question is what would be the best setup for me?
Can I motorize an elliptical two LNB dish to reduce the load on the motor?
Can the setup be made smart enough to use the other LNB if possible instead of moving the dish with the motor?

Thank you!

turbosat

SatelliteGuys Master
Dec 26, 2006
Oneonta,AL
If you really want free to air signals, I'd stick with the usual one dish-one lnb system. The pay-tv providers will supply equipment designed for use with their systems.

Tron

SatelliteGuys Master
May 6, 2005
Metro New Orleans, LA