English channels, G19, non-religious

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by thetrixrabbit, Aug 27, 2019.

Tags:
  1. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    For a Cubavision schedule and how to translate it see my post here. Keep in mind that the schedule is not accurate to the minute even though specific times are given so start times may be off a bit. Saturday, August 31st at 10:00pm looks good. :)
     
  2. cyberham

    cyberham SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Posts:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    For your location, 87W might be easier for PBS on LPB. And 103W has lots of English like NHK Japan and CGTN.
     
  3. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    885
    Likes Received:
    850
    Location:
    Connecticut
    good suggestions in the above posts - I'd add 95W for the CGTN channels. CGTN Documentary is pretty cool. CGTN News is also on 103W (and might be in HD on 103W? I'm not sure)

    PBS might indeed be easier on 87W than on 125W, but 125W also has the West feed, plus World and FNX. Ideally you would want both, as LPB also has specific programming just like any PBS station, that is not on the national feeds.

    Also, 123W has KBS America, with many shows with English subtitles
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  4. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,702
    Likes Received:
    8,083
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    Haven't had any issues with Infowars on my 1.2m-
     
  5. Jim S.

    Jim S. When someone asks you if you're a god, you say yes Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    5,058
    Likes Received:
    499
    Location:
    FN11od
    I haven't watched it for any length of time, but on Rick's forum there were lots of complaints of the channel stuttering or freezing. Rick or someone said that he talked to one of the engineers and confirmed that it was on their end.
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  6. ken2400

    ken2400 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Central NY State
    I have to second the PBS posts. Ever since my local PBS changed change frequency back around Aug 1st and turned off there local transponder I took a look at the dishes that were sitting in the yard and pointed two of them to 87 W and 125 W. Now I need to them ready for the snow. Central NY Freesat V8, V8 signal finder, unknown universal LNB and a Titanium satellite pll-1ks standard ku-band lnbf
    Good luck with your hunt and please keep us posted.
     
  7. Corrado

    Corrado SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,347
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Hudson Valley Region, NY
    My local PBS, WMHT from Albany NY has been gone also since earlier this month.
     
  8. cyberham

    cyberham SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Posts:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    CGTN is HD on 103W. So a little nicer than on 95W.

    Sent from my SM-G950W using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
    comfortably_numb and Brct203 like this.
  9. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    For 87w do you mean tupac 87.2 or ses 2? Im guessing ses2 or you would have said 87.2, but yes 87 would most likely be easier to hit than amc21, but after i decide to set up another dish i i could move it and hit that way easier. As for info wars, it didn't even come up as a channel, would really like to get infowars though. Wish there was a way to pull local channels oft sat, my area the ota is total trash and somedays it works most days it so choppy and bad its not worth trying, i even got a 4 bowtie high gain antenna and its about worthless. I use an app for streaming local news over the internet, its called sturr for anyone interested, it has free programming on it as well and 2 or 3 local. Channels like comet. I would love to get MeTv but my guess is thats not on any satellite just because i would love to have it, you can stream some stuff on their sight but i wish they would make a better app for streaming they do have an app, but for shows ota not to great...over all i guess it is what it is. Might try to point at a pbs feed today, i got a few things to do before i even consider it though. But ill ill check back in if i do, thanks all!
     
  10. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    For snow, dollar general sells a product from Rust-Oleum, think its called never wet, its a two spray can system and the stuff works great, whats even better it only cost a dollar a box. It even shows sat dishes on the box, i was planning on spraying over my dish with that stuff.
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  11. cyberham

    cyberham SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Posts:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    It's SES2. I see lyngsat now lists it at 87.1W. I'm watching Infowars now on 99.2W 12095 H 3675. If it doesn't show up with blind scan, you may need to enter the transponder manually. And METV should be on SES1 at 101W C-band.

    Sent from my SM-G950W using the SatelliteGuys app!
     
  12. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    Omg figures metv is on c band, i only have ku, can you get metv with a 30 some inch dish with a cband lnb? If not o well, im not putting in a giant dish for one channel,lol. But thanks much for the info!
     
  13. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    thanks for the infowars..info lol, i think when i entered it before the sight i used said thw right transponder but i think it said frequency as 3000, yeah that sight seems to be wrong alot, ive been using that satinfo, someone told me about here. It does seem a bit more up to date.
     
  14. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Looks like you are in PA? Have you tried getting MeTV over the air via antenna? I know it is available to the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton market on WSWB 38.2 because we can pick that one up (57 miles away). I believe it is available in the Harrisburg/Lancaster area on WGAL 8.2.
     
  15. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    Saddly yes, its its horrible in the area im in, the transmitter is 6 miles away, but there's a big hill in the direction from me, so yes i get it but most days it jumps horribly. I can actually get CW from Pittsburgh (60 miles away) much better than that transmitter.
     
  16. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,660
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Have you tried tilting your antenna upwards a bit toward the top of the hill to take advantage of the knife-edge effect? When the signal hits the top of a well defined object such as a hill or mountain a refracted signal is created. If your antenna is level you generally get weak or no signal but if you tilt your antenna upwards a bit you can take advantage of this and sometimes get a usable signal. Worth a try if you haven't already done so. We have a large hill between us and the transmitters and tilting our antennas up a bit made all the difference. :)
     
    #36 FTA4PA, Aug 28, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2019
    c-spand likes this.
  17. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    O yeah, i i can get better reception if i move my antenna up 15 more feet..total of 30 feet lol, i dont really want to put a cell phone tower on my roof so thats not happening. Im in a mobile so its already like 6 feet above my house, anything more ill have to teather it and everything else. Im already afraid i put up a huge lighting rod for tv, lol.
     
  18. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    O wow, no i haven't heard of that or tried that, thank you for the info! Im going to deff try that!
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  19. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    Lol now you got my gears turning, hiw much of an angle ? Im thing how can i make an adjustable post that i can try alot of angles. Ive lived with the issues of ota being horrible in this area for year's would be funny if something so simple changed that, lol.
     
  20. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,504
    Likes Received:
    6,898
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Tilting a terrestrial antenna up/down will usually have little effect. Raising or lowering the antenna height will have a major impact. In some instances, higher is not always better.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...