English channels, G19, non-religious

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by thetrixrabbit, Aug 27, 2019.

Tags:
  1. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,661
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    While I agree that raising or lowering an antenna will have the greatest effect I must respectfully disagree regarding tilt. I tried mounting the antenna at numerous heights at a number of locations. In our case tilting the antenna upward toward the hill meant the difference between receiving or not receiving many of our channels. All situations are different. TV reception is a mix of proper equipment, location and even a bit of luck. Tilting may or may not help but you never know unless you try. :)
     
    norman881 likes this.
  2. comfortably_numb

    comfortably_numb Dogs have owners, cats have staff Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Posts:
    7,717
    Likes Received:
    8,099
    Location:
    Missouri/Kansas
    My home is located in a valley. When I had my RCA ANT751R yagi on the roof, I experimented by moving the antenna until I achieved the best signal strength and quality. Tilting it down worked best.

    5C01A51B-6685-4FF9-AB6C-AAD6E157DCEE.jpeg
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  3. Titanium

    Titanium AI6US Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Posts:
    6,505
    Likes Received:
    6,898
    Location:
    Meadow Vista, Northern California
    Of course, any change can make the difference especially if there is little headroom. :)

    The beam pattern of an antenna design will determine the effectiveness of tilting the antenna. Changing the polarity also can have an effect on reception. One channel at my home (3rd edge) is only received if the antenna is rotated for nearly vertical polarity and nearly 45 degrees off-axis. Obviously it is reflecting off of something (or multiple reflections) to arrive my location.
     
    N5XZS, c-spand and FTA4PA like this.
  4. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,661
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    The antennas I use have several notches to lock them in at different angles. I used the first notch that tilted it upward but you would need to experiment. No guarantee it will work in your case but it did for us. I hope it does for you. Good luck! :)
     
    comfortably_numb likes this.
  5. Brct203

    Brct203 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2016
    Posts:
    885
    Likes Received:
    850
    Location:
    Connecticut
    we need to come up with a 3-axis rotor, so that we can adjust not only the azimuth but also elevation and polarity :)
     
    Titanium and FTA4PA like this.
  6. Radioguy41

    Radioguy41 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Posts:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    984
    Location:
    Lehighton, Pennsylvania
    I live in the northside shadow of the Blue Mountains up here in Carbon County PA and with my antenna pointed up at the ridge I pull in everything from the Philadelphia region including Ch 2 out of Wilmington (MeTV).
     
    N5XZS, Brct203, FTA4PA and 1 other person like this.
  7. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    Well, my landlord is less than prob 60 ft from where i live. He had a large yagi on his roof that is easly 2 or 3 times higher than my antenna, he told me his reception was still bad and he don't use it anymore because of it. But i have never seen anyone try the tilt idea in my area, one guy like a mile from me has tower built thats probably about 50 feet hi, for his tv antenna, i dont know the guy to ask if it helps or not. So far i found i do have an extra satellite mast i i could use to mount my antenna to make it very adjustable, but ill lose a good 5 to 6 feet of hight on it. Ill have to climb up on the roof to see if i can get the bottom of the poles bolted together, if i can ill only lose like one foot on it, but i know because ive raised it already, i get about thes signal at that hight. With the sat pole though ill beable to actually move it up down left and right. This is the same one i have. Xtreme Signal HDB8X-NI 8-Bay - Bing images . if that link don't work let me know ill post pics if not. Thanks for the ideas guys im im going to ..maybe try and mount this thing today if i do, rather when i do, ill check back in with the results. Take care all!
     
    N5XZS and c-spand like this.
  8. clucas

    clucas SatelliteGuys Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Posts:
    147
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Lompoc, California
    That antenna works best for me but I did have to screw a strip to the bottom to keep the two sections aligned straight across. Some pretty heavy winds here and the thumbscrews just didn’t hold tight enough.
     
  9. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    Wow turning out to be an annoying day with my dish. So i hit ses2 and get like 22 channels 33 with paid, but got a great picture off the pbs stations, but even changing audio settings i got no sound on some, so i just messed with it hit the most worthless two sats ever, lol one was only a religious show with english and Chinese being said repeatedly over it, lol. And i hit the worthless abc channels thats all behind the seans footage, lol is all i can say, so i tried again to hit ses2 and after 2 hrs i cant cant find it again for the life of me, im hitting a sat right where ses should be but getting nothing off of it for some reason...soo aurg...tomm is another day. If i could get sounds from the pbs stations that would be a decent sat to point at. If i could ever hit it again, the stations only give me dolby 1 and 2 settings, maybe if i set my tv for dolby ill get sound its its only set for stereo right now. I guess ill find out someday.
     
  10. FTA4PA

    FTA4PA Satellite Guys Family Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    3,661
    Likes Received:
    1,654
    Location:
    Central Pennsylvania
    Which receiver are you using (sorry if you already posted and I missed it)? Asking because I remember posting in a thread here where the satellite receiver said it handled Dolby but it actually didn't. I believe the work-around was to pass the audio out of the optical or digital coaxial (rca type audio jack not to be confused with the red and white audio jacks) to a stereo a/v receiver that could decode and play it. If I find the post I will link to it. :)

    EDIT: Found my post. It was regarding PBS on 125w and the Dolby sound (or lack of) on the inexpensive Chinese receivers. :)

    AMIKO - No audio on NBC
     
  11. ken2400

    ken2400 SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Central NY State
    You are not alone. I too have spent hours trying to get 87W. I use V8 Sat meter and an app on the phone to show about were I should point the dish and still it takes hours. Even moving the dish and turning the LNB just a little bit make a big difference in getting it or not.

    Good luck

     
  12. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    Yip i got a china cheapo, honestly, im not even worried about no sound off it, to be honest i only do this crap because i like to see whats out there ill probably end up setting up 3 dishes and watching it once every 3 months, lol. I stream about everything over the net anymore, but been times the net gos down and our ota sucks, so the fta system would come into play. I know some people that lost there cable because it just got so expensive, i was hoping to see about what channels and everything on sats sats and maybe set them up something in time. That is the true great thing about FTA, cost about 100 bucks and you never have to pay another dime, you really cant beat that. Ive had this system for like 3 years now i only put 10 bucks in it since, i kwow a guy that does scraping and he got me two of the old direct tv 30 some inch dishes and a few mount poles for 10 bucks, ya really cant beat that. Heck im im trying to hit ses again just to try a setting on my tv,lol i i must be a glutton for annoyance. Two of the pbs channels didn't have sound but one was pbs kids and i dont have kids here, i guess ill have to do the task of just inching the dish up by 1 degree and scanning..joy..but my sat finder is saying there's a satellite right where ses should be...so try try again i guess.
     
    FTA4PA likes this.
  13. thetrixrabbit

    thetrixrabbit Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    PA
    Ya know, i havent moved my lnb at all actually and ive got about everything, its still set at center, i ment to adjust it a few times and i keep forgetting to, once i decided what to aim at i will i guess. At least im not alone int he great hunt for ses lol. My meter is saying its there but im not getting a feed, im just going to have to keep inching it up and scan after scan i guess. Thanks for the info that its not easy to hit.
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...