Enigma2 alpha installed on Ultra

mr3p

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Pub Member / Supporter
Jan 1, 2010
West
After watching development proceed rapidly for Enigma2 on Azbox, I installed the most recent version which adds support for Ultra. Yes its alpha and not complete but the interface is fantastic and its much more responsive than the factory firmware. I have no particular experience with E2 so its all new but I now love my Azbox that much more. I'll try and take some screen shots but for now I'm just trying to learn my way around. Is it a coincidence that factory firmware development has halted and E2 firmware development is accelerating? Once completed, I think this is going to be a MAJOR upgrade for Azbox users.

Last edited:
I do want to add that the current version is definitely alpha and NOT ready for regular usage. Default satellite list is only euro birds so I have to learn how to add/delete sat list.

thats on the list. may be a while though... lol. I have to figure this thing out lots of options and config settings of with no defaults for north america. i tried to grab a screen shot with maz which of course didn't work. I can connect, see files on the box but thats about it. mediaplayer included with E2 is very slick. I can't figure out how to play files over the network so I may try it out with a USB drive.

you can replace the default satellites.xml in /etc/tuxbox to replace the euro list. you will also need to edit the boot file to enable some ntsc resolution. i was following the project at hxxp://www.azbox-enigma.eu but today i get 403 error. i think that 5020 is the last version we will see from opensat and enigma2 will be ware all the new development happens.

mr3p hows your sound ?

crackt out,.

Glad to know Enigma2 has gotten to this stage. Any of you actually watched TV channels with it?