Status
Please reply by conversation.

Lil Chris

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Sep 27, 2007
Kansas City North
Hi,
I'm new to this satellite stuff and know nothing, so I could use your advise. I'm looking to get into this hobby, being disabled i'm hoping this will give me something fun to do with my time. Today, I started my search for some equiptment most notibally the dish (I'm thinking a 10'er). I found something posted on craigs list and was wondering if it would be worth checking out, (i'm not sure if it's still available or not, I thought I would ask for advise first. Here is what is for sale:

10' Mesh Satellite Dish Complete
922 4DTV receiver, 920 4DTV receiver, Motorola HDD200,HDTV Decoder, 15 degree CBand LNB, zero point 3 KU LNBF. $500.00 OBO

Now, if we we're talking computers, I'd know what's good but I know nothing about satellite equiptment. I know I would have to check the dish out for defects, but I was curious about the equiptment and wheather I should persue this or not...?

Is there anything I need to be aware of before purchasing...?

Thanks,
Chris

Not too bad of a deal, but being an original C-bander... I am biased... not that much up there compared to the DBS dishes, and C-band is losing programming it seems like all the time. I have 4dtv and a HD sidecar as well as VCII , but do not have any active subs right now so cannot tell you for sure what is left on C-band ... need to put up something or link to something that does show What is left... :)

Here is what I did...
Did some home work, like you are, on what to look for.
I bought a similar System from Craig's(receiver was an older 920 vs. newer 922) for $250.
Set it up and learned how to use the system, and how it works. Lots of reading.
Then I sold the 920 receiver for $125, HDD200 for $200, and the LNBs with Feedhorn for $120.
That leaves you just the Dish and Motor.